Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
The following statements are absolutely true.
1. There is no 3-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts.
The release does not end a three second count, it ends technically on a try for goal (if you decide to start it at all )
|
Actually it does. The 3 second count continues until team control ends. Team control ends when the ball is in flight on the try...not when the act of shooting begins. The exception in the rule only applies to the player making a try for the goal. Any other player can be called for 3 seconds up until the ball is released.
Quote:
7. A high dribble is always legal provided the dribbler does not turn his/her hand over when he/she dribbles!
Well the dribble ends if they turn their hand over as you state. But a high dribble is totally legal.
|
Why does the dribble end if they turn their hand over? The dribble ends if they catch the ball. That may occur when the hand is turned over but it doesn't necessarily have to.
Quote:
16. Any contact foul during a live ball is personal, not technical!
You can have a Flagrant Foul called during a live ball.
|
A flagrant foul is a personal foul when the contact occurs during a live ball.