The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in spot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/77426-throw-spot.html)

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 780984)
I know I know :), but for example sake it would be.

No, to compare it to the OP, you'd have to change the OP to a shot released from within the FT circle; in which case the whole discussion is moot because it would go to the endline no matter who is right on this topic.

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 780986)
Agreed, which is why I differentiate between accepted practice and the rule itself. Kinda like the fact that the 3 second rule doesn't mention advantage/disadvantage, or the fact that the 10 second free throw rule usually takes at least 15-16 seconds to recognize.

I accept y'alls concepts, but where did the violation occur if the ball did not hit the rim?

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 780989)
I accept y'alls concepts, but where did the violation occur if the ball did not hit the rim?

Where does a throw-in violation occur if it does not touch a player on the court?

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 780987)
No, to compare it to the OP, you'd have to change the OP to a shot released from within the FT circle; in which case the whole discussion is moot because it would go to the endline no matter who is right on this topic.

For the point not hitting the rim though

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 780991)
For the point not hitting the rim though

But the differences (from where the shot was taken) make it an irrelevant comparison.

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 780992)
But the differences (from where the shot was taken) make it an irrelevant comparison.

Sec. 11, Art. 2. It is a violation when a try for field goal does not leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time or a try does not subsequently strike the ring or flange or enter the basket.

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 781002)
Sec. 11, Art. 2. It is a violation when a try for field goal does not leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time or a try does not subsequently strike the ring or flange or enter the basket.

Which is completely irrevelant to the FT violation. We're going around in circles here, have a good day.

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 781012)
Which is completely irrevelant to the FT violation. We're going around in circles here, have a good day.

That was an example Snaq's. I'm supporting the endline throw in, which I think you are against?

Raymond Mon Aug 15, 2011 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 781002)
Sec. 11, Art. 2. It is a violation when a try for field goal does not leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time or a try does not subsequently strike the ring or flange or enter the basket.

I think you're missing the point of this debate. The debate is "at what point after the shot clock expire does it become a violation". Those who are advocating a sideline throw-in are saying we (officials) should be judging it a miss at some point while the ball is still in flight, which means the ball location would be the spot the ball was last in contact with a player (ie: a 3-point shooter).

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 781016)
I think you're missing the point of this debate. The debate is "at what point after the shot clock expire does it become a violation". Those who are advocating a sideline throw-in are saying we (officials) should be judging it a miss at some point while the ball is still in flight, which means the ball location would be the spot the ball was last in contact with a player (ie: a 3-point shooter).

According to the rule, when it misses the ring. I find it hard to judge a shot unsuccessful in midflight. Oh and thanks for the clarification, it was much needed

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 781015)
That was an example Snaq's. I'm supporting the endline throw in, which I think you are against?

Yes, I'm against it, but my point here is the FT violation doesn't speak to it either way, because whether you base the spot on the location of the shooter or the rim, it's the same spot.

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 781022)
Yes, I'm against it, but my point here is the FT violation doesn't speak to it either way, because whether you base the spot on the location of the shooter or the rim, it's the same spot.

Gotcha, I agree on that, it wasn't a good example

Raymond Mon Aug 15, 2011 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 781023)
Gotcha, I agree on that, it wasn't a good example

Here's one: A1, having used his dribble and in backcourt in the paint, passes the ball towards midcourt. A2 has turned and doesn't see the ball coming. A1 chases the ball down near the division line and retrieves it. A1 has committed an illegal dribble. Is violation at midcourt where he retrieved the ball or back in the paint where he started his illegal dribble?

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 781030)
Here's one: A1, having used his dribble and in backcourt in the paint, passes the ball towards midcourt. A2 has turned and doesn't see the ball coming. A1 chases the ball down near the division line and retrieves it. A1 has committed an illegal dribble. Is violation at midcourt where he retrieved the ball or back in the paint where he started his illegal dribble?

Assuming A1 dribbles, the throw in will be where A1 retrieved the passed ball and dribbled as that is the spot where the violation occurred.

Raymond Mon Aug 15, 2011 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 781032)
Assuming A1 dribbles, the throw in will be where A1 retrieved the passed ball and dribbled as that is the spot where the violation occurred.

Re-read my scenario. A1 already used his dribble prior to passing the ball. Retrieving the pass makes it an illegal dribble.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1