The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in spot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/77426-throw-spot.html)

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 780946)
The whistle does not make the ball dead on volations; a basic fundamental. At this point, the whistle is just recognition of a dead ball, which happened while the ball was in the air.

I'm not arguing accepted practice, but it seems to me the rule itself is clear that the ball should be put in play from the spot nearest the point from where it was shot.

But the ball is still live in the air even though the horn sounded. Until it is unsuccessful, which we do not know until it is clearly unsuccessful (falling below the ring and/or striking the floor)

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 780948)
But the ball is still live in the air even though the horn sounded. Until it is unsuccessful, which we do not know until it is clearly unsuccessful (falling below the ring and/or striking the floor)

The violation occurs when the ball falls below the ring; the fact that the whistle likely won't blow until it hits the floor is irrelevant.

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 780954)
The violation occurs when the ball falls below the ring; the fact that the whistle likely won't blow until it hits the floor is irrelevant.

But the whistle acknowledges the violation. There is nothing until the whistle. I agree about the violation but by the time the whistle is blown the ball is falling to the court, if not already contacting it

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 780956)
But the whistle acknowledges the violation. There is nothing until the whistle. I agree about the violation but by the time the whistle is blown the ball is falling to the court, if not already contacting it

I recognize that shot clock violations are a special animal, but the whistle doesn't matter for timing.

A1 dribbling, steps out of bounds. Just after he steps out, B1 comes up and shoves him. The whistle then blows for the OOB violation.
Is this an intentional personal, or intentional technical foul?

A1, with the ball in the BC, passes towards A2 in the FC. As the ball is in flight, A3 and B3 commit a double foul. Before the official can blow his whistle for the foul, A2 catches the ball in the FC. Where are you administering the throw-in for the POI?

A1 with the ball in the backcourt (FT line) as the count approaches 10. Just as the official hits 9, he launches a rainbow pass towards A2 on the front court endline. The whistle blows just as the ball is about to bounce at the FT line in the FC. Where are you inbounding?

A1 shoots a 3 pt shot, while the ball is in flight, B2 and A2 commit a double foul. The whistle blows after the ball misses everything and lands in the lane. Where is your POI?

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 11:39am

I understand all of these, but why would the ball go back to where it was shot?

APG Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 780915)
Basically what I said 5 days ago on page 1 of this thread.

Haha...my bad! :p

Quote:

Do we have any plays readily available on YouTube involving shot clock violations and the subsequent throw-in?
I tried looking earlier, but surprisingly, people don't really put up clips of shot clock violations. I think the only way you'd find someone putting up a clip is if they tried to follow a shaky, maybe technically correct rulebook interpretation.

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:24pm

It strikes me that this violation is, essentially, for maintaining TC for 35 seconds without taking a proper shot; much like the 10 second backcourt violation. It also has an element of an improper shot (a shot that doesn't hit the rim or go through), much like a throw-in violation that doesn't touch a player before going out of bounds. In both of those cases, the throw-in spot is made from the spot nearest where the violating team released the ball.

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 780974)
It strikes me that this violation is, essentially, for maintaining TC for 35 seconds without taking a proper shot; much like the 10 second backcourt violation. It also has an element of an improper shot (a shot that doesn't hit the rim or go through), much like a throw-in violation that doesn't touch a player before going out of bounds. In both of those cases, the throw-in spot is made from the spot nearest where the violating team released the ball.

But where is the rim? Its not where the shot is taken. If it was not released in time then yes at the spot of the shot would be the throw in. But if it is baseline, then we have the horn, you wait to see if the ball hits the rim, if not then you have a throw in on the baseline. Because it violated that provision of not hitting the rim. You wouldn't back the throw in up all the way to the sideline at halfcourt, for a shot coming short of the rim

Raymond Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 780974)
It strikes me that this violation is, essentially, for maintaining TC for 35 seconds without taking a proper shot; much like the 10 second backcourt violation. It also has an element of an improper shot (a shot that doesn't hit the rim or go through), much like a throw-in violation that doesn't touch a player before going out of bounds. In both of those cases, the throw-in spot is made from the spot nearest where the violating team released the ball.

I totally agree with that interp (also given by Scrapper and Nevada among others). However, as I stated earlier I have not seen it administered that way at the college level. Rest assured those first few games that come on TV this season I will be on the look out to see what's actually being done.

It's quite possible that officials are not judging the shot to be missed until the shot hits the floor or a person and thus ruling that is when the violation occurred.

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:04pm

It would be like administering a sideline throw in for a second free throw that was an hairball.

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 780976)
But where is the rim? Its not where the shot is taken. If it was not released in time then yes at the spot of the shot would be the throw in. But if it is baseline, then we have the horn, you wait to see if the ball hits the rim, if not then you have a throw in on the baseline. Because it violated that provision of not hitting the rim. You wouldn't back the throw in up all the way to the sideline at halfcourt, for a shot coming short of the rim

The rim is not what commits the violation; neither is the ball. It's the players.

Raymond Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 780980)
It would be like administering a sideline throw in for a second free throw that was an hairball.

Violations committed at the free throw line are administered at the end line. ;)

NCHSAA Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 780982)
Violations committed at the free throw line are administered at the end line. ;)

I know I know :), but for example sake it would be.

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCHSAA (Post 780980)
It would be like administering a sideline throw in for a second free throw that was an hairball.

No, because that violation occurs inside the FT circle, which is an endline spot throw-in. Just as if a foul or travel occurs in that circle.

Adam Mon Aug 15, 2011 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 780979)
I totally agree with that interp (also given by Scrapper and Nevada among others). However, as I stated earlier I have not seen it administered that way at the college level. Rest assured those first few games that come on TV this season I will be on the look out to see what's actually being done.

It's quite possible that officials are not judging the shot to be missed until the shot hits the floor or a person and thus ruling that is when the violation occurred.

Agreed, which is why I differentiate between accepted practice and the rule itself. Kinda like the fact that the 3 second rule doesn't mention advantage/disadvantage, or the fact that the 10 second free throw rule usually takes at least 15-16 seconds to recognize.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1