The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 23, 2000, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Post

Summer league, NF rules with running clock except last two minutes of half. End of 1st quarter held ball, we have arrow, inbounding on baseline, don't get ball in before quarter ends. Arrow is erroneously switched and neither me or my assistant catch it. Start second quarter, team B with ball (we are always A!), we get called for a foul off the ball before ball is inbounded. My assistant says, "Hey wait, we should have arrow!" (good learning experience for us both - either or both of us should have said something right away when ball was not inbounded to make sure they got it right) Conference at table, ref determines A is right, A should have had arrow, table did not understand rules on changing arrow only after ball is inbounded. Resolution: no foul, team A's ball.

Is this acceptable from a pure NF rules standpoint (forget context, summer league with more relaxed setting and all of us there to learn). This situation is not listed as a correctable error, but ball has never been in play.

Now, to make things more interesting, suppose team B is in double bonus (we foul early and often!), B1 shoots first free throw and makes it, and then A points out that A should have ball and arrow was in wrong position. What then? Correctable error? Clock has not started and ball has not been live yet.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1