The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free Throw Violation Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7590-free-throw-violation-question.html)

rainmaker Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:33am

Rule 9-1-4(b) If there is a violation first by the free-thrower's opponent followed by the free thrower or a teammate: (b) if the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3)

Okay, so we look back up to

9-1-3 If there is a simultaneous violation by each team, and no further free throws are to be administered...

Okay, but what if there are further free throws?

ie, lined up for two shots, an opponent of the shooter steps in too soon, and then shooter misses rim, now what?

what about on the first of a one-and-one?

BktBallRef Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Rule 9-1-4(b) If there is a violation first by the free-thrower's opponent followed by the free thrower or a teammate: (b) if the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3)

Okay, so we look back up to

9-1-3 If there is a simultaneous violation by each team, and no further free throws are to be administered...

Okay, but what if there are further free throws?

ie, lined up for two shots, an opponent of the shooter steps in too soon, and then shooter misses rim, now what?

what about on the first of a one-and-one?



If it's two shots, you shoot the 2nd shot.

If it's 1&1, you go to the AP.

Unless there's disconcertion.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 21, 2003 02:38am

Juulie,check out casebook play 6.3.3SitB.That's the rules reference for Tony's answer.

Hawks Coach Fri Feb 21, 2003 04:11pm

Just remember that if the shooting team violates, they are losing that FT, regardless of whether B violates as well. If you get the double violation, it remains a simple loss of the FT on the first of two (or First/second of three), AP arrow if it was a FT that could be rebounded. It is kind of odd on the initial FTs that the double violation only penalizes the shooting team - maybe we should flip a coin to see if they get to re-shoot the first FT :)

rainmaker Fri Feb 21, 2003 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
It is kind of odd on the initial FTs that the double violation only penalizes the shooting team
This is my concern. If that's the rule, well, okay. It just doesn't feel intuitive.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1