The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2003, 12:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
Question

I was paging through Referee magazine's January edition, in the NASO area, and the following situation was analyzed:

Team A is behind by two in the closing seconds, and attempts a 3-point shot. B6 comes off the bench and blocks the attempt as time expires. The ruling (I believe it was 10.1.6, I may be wrong) was that you can't count the 3, but a technical is given to B6, and two shots are given to team A to attempt to tie the game. Which got me to thinking...

Here's my question. Let's say team A is down by 3, and the exact same thing happens. Then you wouldn't shoot the two technical foul shots, because they wouldn't affect the outcome of the game. Basically, B6 coming off the bench, blocking the shot, and only receiving a technical foul could in essence save the game for team B. Doesn't this seem wrong?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1