![]() |
|
|
|||
So we are in agreement that just because you blew the whistle late it doesn't mean that B2's shot still counts. You are enforcing the foul that occurred when A1 had the ball. You just had a (exteeeemely) patient whistle.
But patient whistles have nothing to do with the original scenario. In the original scenario a foul clearly occurred while A1 was still dribbling. Allowing A1 to continue dribbling and then score a basket while still enforcing the foul is a rules interpretation. If you try to explain to your supervisor or a coach that you allowed the basket due to a patient whistle you will not have a leg to stand on.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
And you haven't been questioning, you've been telling how it should be enforce. But when asked to explain your stance you never gave a clear answer. You said: Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jun 17, 2011 at 12:13pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I should've gone with our standard line, "In my judgment..." |
|
||||
Because when the coach sends the tape in and it's clear that A1 took two dribbles after B1 pushed A2, and you counted the basket, you're going to have to answer to your supervisor.
You'll have one of three problems. 1. Integrity. 2. Judgment. 3. Rules knowledge. The fourth option is that the supervisor will agree with Camron's expansion of the TF case play to apply to intentional fouls. I would much rather have a supervisor tell me I should go with Camron's reasoning than explain to me why my rules knowledge needs some work.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
When I finally have this play in five to seven years, I'll know what to do. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I just had one in camp 2 weeks ago. Had at least 2 last season. It is not uncommon.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jun 17, 2011 at 03:43pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Again, what does judgement have to do with it? Intentional foul, 2 dribbles, shot, made basket. What is the ruling? It has already been determined that a foul has to be called and it has already been determined there were 2 dribbles before A1 began his try. And notice, I've never once said your ruling is wrong. I've only said that you need to be able to explain it. And if you can't explain it here clearly and precisely with the help of the backspace key and delete button then you are going to have a real problem when you are on the court. Every play I discuss on these boards I discuss as if I had to explain my decision to a coach or a supervisor. I'm in to real-world application. So that's why I keeping harping about it. Because calls you make reflect upon not only yourself, they also reflect upon the crew, the crew chief, and the supervisor.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jun 17, 2011 at 03:36pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
You make the call | Carbide Keyman | Baseball | 2 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 10:25pm |
Make the Call Here | Baseball_North | Baseball | 15 | Fri Apr 22, 2005 04:07pm |
you make the call !! | fastballb | Softball | 7 | Wed Apr 02, 2003 04:48pm |
Y ou make the call! | TriggerMN | Basketball | 21 | Sat Mar 08, 2003 11:37pm |
What call would you make? | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Tue Mar 20, 2001 10:31pm |