Thread: Make the call
View Single Post
  #87 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 17, 2011, 11:47am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Of course not, there's no shot. Foul on B-2.



...
So we are in agreement that just because you blew the whistle late it doesn't mean that B2's shot still counts. You are enforcing the foul that occurred when A1 had the ball. You just had a (exteeeemely) patient whistle.

But patient whistles have nothing to do with the original scenario. In the original scenario a foul clearly occurred while A1 was still dribbling. Allowing A1 to continue dribbling and then score a basket while still enforcing the foul is a rules interpretation.

If you try to explain to your supervisor or a coach that you allowed the basket due to a patient whistle you will not have a leg to stand on.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote