![]() |
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
So if the ball-handler and the defender are in the Lead's primary, then there is no five second count unless the Trail is counting? I don't know that rule. mick |
|
|||
Quote:
Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
![]()
The only count a Lead can have is a 3 second count. But obviously a 3 second count is not visible.
3 Person is designed so that 2 officials can be watching the ball. So the Trail would have a 5 second count in the Lead's area. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
What?
Did I miss something? Trail has the 5 second count when lead has the ball in his primary??? I can see that now ball is outside the arc on lead's side closely guarded and the trail is making a 5 second count.... If trail is counting who is watching off ball? like right in the middle of the paint when the ball is out wide. The ball is on myside of the paint and the guy is dribbling around. near the baseline. I am watching for pushes, hits on the arms, blocking, etc but not closely guarded? Naw dont think so... I am the one watching the ball and not the low post players at that point. I am not going to ever try and explain to a coach that I had the five second count in front of my partner as trail. particularly when they have big guys in there. I dont have that much stock in ATT, QWEST, and MCI There is not anything in the rules or officials manual that backs this up. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
To tolerate mediocrity is to foster it. |
|
|||
Quote:
3 Person is designed to have two officials watching the ball in most cases. If the ball is in the post (where the Lead's primary is) that is where most of the players are going to be and the action. The Center position is designed for off-ball coverage and backside help on calls that the Lead and Trail might miss. Only the C and the T have a five second count in HS mechanics. Women's CCA Mechanics is a little bit different, but they also have an entirely different coverage area. So things are going to be different if you are doing an NCAA game. But in NF and NCAA Men's games, the lead never has a count. The Lead has a very small area, and if the ball is in the post in the Lead's primary, chances are that it started in the Trail's area to begin with. Just the way it is. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I'm talking two person crew... some of the previous posts suggest that in two person that lead does not have a five second count...
I dont do any three NF or NCAA around here but to not have the lead who may be closest to the play not counting is ridiculous. Even the NBA in the 5 second backdown rule has lead count. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Let me put it this way. What happens when the dribbler starts in the lead's primary and then dribbles out front, above the top of the key? Is the lead suppose to leave the baseline and follow him? Of couse not. But that's what's required of the T and C. Once they start a count, they have to follow the player until the count ends. It's not difficult for the T to count as well as look through the play and see what's happening? There are two sets of eyes on the area. We're talking about a very small area where the T wouldn't ordinarily be officiating anyway. We're only talking about the area below the imaginary diagonal line that extends from the middle of the third FT space to the corner, inside the 3 pt. arc. It's not that difficult to do.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I have never heard of this before. So, I went and looked it up in the Officials Manual. I can only find two relevant statements.
302. (page 47) All officials should maintain the semblance of a wide triangle coverage of the court and fundamentally they should be moving into the proper positions each time there is a change in possession of the ball (but should never turn their backs to the ball). The Center or Trail official, who has a five-second closely-guarded count in the frontcourt, must step onto the court and go with the dribbler even toward the other side official's area of responsibility, showing that he/she still has the initial count and that the offensive player is still closely-guarded. Diagram 28 (page 50) Each official has an area of primary coverage for fouls and violations on and off the ball in that area. When ball is not in primary area, take all players in your area. Dual coverage is indicated. Officials must always be aware of location of ball, players and other officials. (BTW, who wrote that caption? Take a grammar course, please!) The first could certainly be understood to say that the Lead is not to have a closely-guarded count. However, the second would imply that he does. I guess you should follow what your assignor says. I am grateful to the board for teaching me something new today! |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|