The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 10, 2011, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Correct, but that is exactly why Rut is T'ing the player--FOR THE CONTACT. He has now resorted to word games in an effort to not have to admit his error.


This argument carries the day. It's perfect.
Of course, Rut would T the guy for punching the opponent. He would argue that he's penalizing the thought which entered the player's head just before he struck his opponent or some other such nonsense.
Well, the rule book DOES say that a punch is a fight and that fighting is a flagrant T. Of course, it is contradicted by other elements that suggest that it is a personal foul if the ball is live. So, you have a choice of which one to follow....so he wouldn't be wrong in either case.

I can also find no rule or case that says that taunting must be free of contact.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 11, 2011, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I can also find no rule or case that says that taunting must be free of contact.
Try this one:
DEAD-BALL LIVE-BALL FOULS
4.19.14 SITUATION:
What type of foul is committed when: (a) during a deadball
period A1 taunts B1; (b) B1 crosses the end line and fouls thrower A1; (c)
immediately after the ball passes through the basket, airborne shooter A1 fouls
B1; or (d) B1 reaches through the end-line boundary and slaps the ball from the
hands of thrower A1.
RULING: It is an unsporting technical foul in (a) and an
intentional personal foul in (b). There is no score in (c), as A1 has committed a
player-control foul. The foul in (d) is a technical foul charged to B1.

According to the definiton provided in 4-19-14 an unsporting technical foul is NONcontact, so the taunt has to be free of contact.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 11, 2011, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Try this one:
DEAD-BALL LIVE-BALL FOULS
4.19.14 SITUATION:
What type of foul is committed when: (a) during a deadball
period A1 taunts B1; (b) B1 crosses the end line and fouls thrower A1; (c)
immediately after the ball passes through the basket, airborne shooter A1 fouls
B1; or (d) B1 reaches through the end-line boundary and slaps the ball from the
hands of thrower A1.
RULING: It is an unsporting technical foul in (a) and an
intentional personal foul in (b). There is no score in (c), as A1 has committed a
player-control foul. The foul in (d) is a technical foul charged to B1.

According to the definiton provided in 4-19-14 an unsporting technical foul is NONcontact, so the taunt has to be free of contact.

Was the "contact" sufficient for a foul all on its own....then I'd agree, have a personal foul. However, you didn't address my earlier point about the contact being incidental and in the presence of other actions warranting a call. The fact that there was contact doesn't make it a personal foul. Only if the contact WAS the foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 11, 2011, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Try this one:
DEAD-BALL LIVE-BALL FOULS
4.19.14 SITUATION:
What type of foul is committed when: (a) during a deadball
period A1 taunts B1; (b) B1 crosses the end line and fouls thrower A1; (c)
immediately after the ball passes through the basket, airborne shooter A1 fouls
B1; or (d) B1 reaches through the end-line boundary and slaps the ball from the
hands of thrower A1.
RULING: It is an unsporting technical foul in (a) and an
intentional personal foul in (b). There is no score in (c), as A1 has committed a
player-control foul. The foul in (d) is a technical foul charged to B1.

According to the definiton provided in 4-19-14 an unsporting technical foul is NONcontact, so the taunt has to be free of contact.

It doesn't have to be free from contact, just that the contact is not the reason that the foul is being called.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whaddya got? fullor30 Basketball 8 Thu Feb 26, 2009 07:04pm
Whaddya got? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 35 Tue Jan 15, 2008 01:40am
Whaddya do? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 8 Mon Jan 23, 2006 04:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1