The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,105
Whaddya got?


Last edited by Larks; Mon May 16, 2011 at 05:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 06:06pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Judging the play by itself I've got nothing...blow the play dead, let them separate, a friendly reminder that he can hang on to the rim to protect himself, move on.

Now if there were events prior to this that needed addressing (game becoming chippy, players talked to prior, ect.) I could easily see this being a T.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 06:19pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,510
I probably would T up Rondo in this case. He clearly tried to land on player on the other team. I am surprised the restraint the defender showed in that situation. Rondo is lucky he was not in a neck brace.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 06:23pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I probably would T up Rondo in this case. He clearly tried to land on player on the other team. I am surprised the restraint the defender showed in that situation. Rondo is lucky he was not in a neck brace.

Peace
+1 He is also lucky his opponent wasn't Pre-2011 Ron Artest.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 17, 2011, 09:14am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,986
Time to brew up a kettle.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 17, 2011, 09:31am
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Time to brew up a kettle.
+1. T should have been served...might even have been flagrant. Looked like a pretty deliberate act to humiliate defender that could have exploded if the defender was more of a hothead.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 17, 2011, 10:16am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
+1. T should have been served...might even have been flagrant. Looked like a pretty deliberate act to humiliate defender that could have exploded if the defender was more of a hothead.
The defender may have been laughing during that last playoff series.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 17, 2011, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I probably would T up Rondo in this case. He clearly tried to land on player on the other team. I am surprised the restraint the defender showed in that situation. Rondo is lucky he was not in a neck brace.

Peace
Agreed....Rondo pulled himself up on the rim and swung onto the defenders shoulders....*WHACK!
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 17, 2011, 11:15am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,776
How in the world is this not a T??? Rondo hung there, and then swung himself up and over to land on the guy's shoulders. Even in a "friendly" All-Star type game, that needs to be T'd.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 17, 2011, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 91
Whack.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2011, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Whack-o-la
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 08:42pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 300
What about the basket?

Technically he was still an airborne shooter...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 08:44pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl View Post
Technically he was still an airborne shooter...
And that means what?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 08:57pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 300
It seems you could call this a player control foul and take the basket away. But now I have to go read the rules- I assume you could not do both (call a technical and take the basket away).

If an airborne shooter commits a common foul the basket does not count. But if they commit a technical, the basket does count?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 09:03pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,510
All I have to say is........

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl View Post
It seems you could call this a player control foul and take the basket away. But now I have to go read the rules- I assume you could not do both (call a technical and take the basket away).

If an airborne shooter commits a common foul the basket does not count. But if they commit a technical, the basket does count?
SmileyCentral.com NO!!!!

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whaddya got? fullor30 Basketball 8 Thu Feb 26, 2009 07:04pm
Whaddya got? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 35 Tue Jan 15, 2008 01:40am
Whaddya do? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 8 Mon Jan 23, 2006 04:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1