![]() |
|
|
|||
Help
Looking for a case play that shows the difference between slapping the backboard purposely & incidentally. Also, how slapping the backboard cannot be BI or GT.
Thanks!
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
The NFHS definition for basket interference, Rule 4-6, does not make any allowance for a BI violation to be called due to slapping the backboard no matter if it was done incidentally or intentionally.
|
|
|||
From The Files Of The Mythbusters ...
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul. (NFHS Rules)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Couldn't find anything in the NCAA Case Book...can't check Snaq's Fed cite right now. But I'm sure Randy Brown could help there.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
What needs to be qualified? What is incorrect about the statement? Billy pulled that particular statement from a "Commonly Misunderstood Rules" piece that he keeps.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|