![]() |
|
|
|||
End of UCLA and Mich. St. last 3 seconds.
End of UCLA and Mich. St. - last couple of seconds.
From my view V1 catches the ball with both feet off the floor, step right foot, then left foot, pushing ball to the floor, then right foot touches floor again. (Correct my description if neccessary.) I don't think the described play is travilling. The official called it a travel. I have no horse in the race, but would like a more expert opinion. I am open to being incorrect. Regardless, someone please teach me or confirm my thinking.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
Quote:
You did not mention when the right foot was lifted from the floor after he took a step with the left foot. If the right (pivot) foot was lifted *before* the ball was released on the dribble, it is a travel. If the right (pivot) foot was not lifted before the ball was released on the dribble, it is a not travel. (Not sure if you're a referee or not. If you, then you should know to include all crucial information!)
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks for the correction. You spurred my to re-read the jumpstop rule (NCAA). I was incorrectly thinking there was some crazy jumpstop rule that gave him the extra step.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) | big jake | Basketball | 229 | Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm |
DP/Flex Redux | Skahtboi | Softball | 19 | Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm |
Backcourt redux | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 86 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm |