The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 38 votes, 4.95 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:48pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
Just to pile on...I heard Will Perdue calling the North Carolina game on radio today. First he accused an official who, by the radio description, sold a blocking foul call of making it about himself. Then when there was a close OOB call, said he thought they could look at the monitor to determine who hit it out of bounds.

He was quickly corrected.
Maybe he also works NBA games where you could do this under 2 in the fourth and all of OT. Or maybe he's just like 99 percent of announcers and didn't know the rule haha
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
Syracuse/Marquette

Anybody see the BC violation on Syracuse at the end. In slow motion, it looked to me like he never had control until his foot was off the line. Real time I would have probably made the same call. Lots of bang bang calls in the tourny. Doing a good job.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
see the tourney discussion thread. Also, what's the rule about bc/fc on a throw-in?
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
that was not a back court, there is no team control on a throw in, cuse player was in the air, lands on the mid court line...
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:16pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcso77 View Post
that was not a back court, there is no team control on a throw in, cuse player was in the air, lands on the mid court line...
You're right but for the wrong reason. Under NCAA rules, there IS team control during a throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Art. 8. After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his/her front
court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the
playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one
or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down
was in the front court or back court.
Section 4.

based on this looks like they made the wrong call
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 06:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
The backcourt call was wrong. The play was a sideline thowin. The player jumped in the air and caught the ball near midcourt. He landed on one foot in the front court and his secondfoot landed on the division line. He then picked up his first/pivot foot and stepped in the front and turned his second foot into the front court. There was no backcourt because the player caught the ball in the air and landed with his first foot in the front court and his second foot in the backcourt which he is allowed to do. The violation should have been for travel when he lifted his pivot foot and then put that foot back on to the court.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
If this was NFHS and I think the same for college: On the throw in, the Syracuse player jumped from his front court caught the ball in the air and landed first on his right foot on the division line (which is in the back court). His left foot touched down in the front court. In my opinion this was legal. Although, without dribbling, somehow the Syracuse player’s right foot or pivot foot ended up in the front court. This is when a traveling call should have been made but the official called over and back. The Syracuse player did not commit a back court violation because during the throw in there is exception to the back court rule. This is a great play for discussion!
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:30pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Sure is: 2011 Tournament Discussion Redux
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) big jake Basketball 229 Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm
DP/Flex Redux Skahtboi Softball 19 Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm
Backcourt redux assignmentmaker Basketball 86 Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1