![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
You did not mention when the right foot was lifted from the floor after he took a step with the left foot. If the right (pivot) foot was lifted *before* the ball was released on the dribble, it is a travel. If the right (pivot) foot was not lifted before the ball was released on the dribble, it is a not travel. (Not sure if you're a referee or not. If you, then you should know to include all crucial information!)
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks for the correction. You spurred my to re-read the jumpstop rule (NCAA). I was incorrectly thinking there was some crazy jumpstop rule that gave him the extra step.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
|
With 4:47 to go in the Arizona - Memphis game this afternoon on CBS, the score was tied and an Arizona player gets called for a foul. The camera pans then over to Arizona HC Sean Miller to get his reaction and he's picking his nose!
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
I always find that comical. Usually see it during baseball games with all the bored bench players and bull pen guys just a hangin out!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
|
Pitt/Butler
The foul against Butler with time expiring was either the worst call I have ever seen or the guttiest.
Not many officials would blow their whistles in that circumstance. I am still not sure there was enough contact to make that call, but kudos for having the balls to call it. That one was big time.
|
|
|||
|
Teams have scored with less time going full court in the tournament. You have to give the player the chance to play the ball. Easy call to me.
Can't wait for a week of "swallow the whistle talk." The Pitt kid on the rebounding action really gave the ref no choice. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double. |
|
|||
|
Both calls were good calls. If you don't have the balls to blow either of those fouls, I don't want to be on the floor with you.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The first call was correct. Player was forced into either a travel or OOB by contact. No choice but to call a foul. Second one should have been ignored. Even IF you can make a case for a foul in that situation, the score is tied with little chance of a score absent a call. Leave it alone, play 5 minutes more and then any call or no-call becomes moot. Had one team been ahead, you can argue the foul. If there's a chance for OT, absent the prevention of a valid scoring attempt, go to OT. There's no advantage gained by grabbing an arm 90 feet from the basket with about a second left. No one here has yet made the case for such an advantage. Ordinarily, without an unfair advantage in a contact situation, we're going to leave it alone. Last edited by Texas Aggie; Sat Mar 19, 2011 at 08:48pm. |
|
|||
|
Amen. A couple of my friends on Facebook have started in with "let the players decide the game" crud. I have half a mind to pick a fight with them.
|
|
|||
|
Excessive Foul Called in UC/UConn Game
Kemba had a breakout. #32 for UC attempts to block. Makes body contact from behind while Kemba is in the air and then fouls him going for the block. Both officials signal what I assume to mean excessive and not intentional. Seemed correct to me but I do not know what the wording of the NCAA rule is. Can someone paste it for me?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) | big jake | Basketball | 229 | Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm |
| DP/Flex Redux | Skahtboi | Softball | 19 | Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm |
| Backcourt redux | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 86 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm |