The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2011, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 31
False Double Foul

National Federation Rules.
A1 has is going in for a layup (not successful) while B1 grabs him from behind...Intentional Foul. A1 now turns and bumps/pushes B1 enough to have a technical foul called on him. (not flagrant just unsporting "T")
A1 shoots two (2) with the lane empty then we go to the other end and team B shoots two (2) at their end.
Then the ball was put in play by Team B at the division line opposite the table.
It was argued (by the coach of team A) that we should go to the arrow because the intentional foul is usually followed by a throw-in by the offended team. In this case that would have been team A.
The closest thing I can find is Case 4.19.9 situation "C". In this case the coach of Team A causes the "T" not the Team A player but I don't think that makes any difference. We have a False Double Foul the second part of which is technical.
Did we get it right or is there another case that I may have missed which would have changed our ruling?
__________________
Burtis449
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2011, 08:46pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
You got it right.

It is a false double - penalize each foul. A looses their throw-in because of the T they committed.

Use the arrow for situations where the penalties cancel - eg: double foul. But and INT and a subsequent dead-ball T, even if this T was retaliatory to the INT, does not have cancelled penalties.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2011, 08:49pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Coach argued wrong. You handled the play correctly.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2011, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burtis449 View Post
National Federation Rules.
A1 has is going in for a layup (not successful) while B1 grabs him from behind...Intentional Foul. A1 now turns and bumps/pushes B1 enough to have a technical foul called on him. (not flagrant just unsporting "T")
A1 shoots two (2) with the lane empty then we go to the other end and team B shoots two (2) at their end.
Then the ball was put in play by Team B at the division line opposite the table.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2011, 08:05am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burtis449 View Post
National Federation Rules.
A1 has is going in for a layup (not successful) while B1 grabs him from behind...Intentional Foul. A1 now turns and bumps/pushes B1 enough to have a technical foul called on him. (not flagrant just unsporting "T")
You administered it correctly. I have just one minor quibble, and it's pretty minor. But by rule, an unsporting technical foul is a non-contact foul. In your case, you actually have an intentional technical foul (for dead ball contact).

It makes no difference in the penalties or how you administer them. It's strictly terminology. And it's possible that you just don't care about the terminology. But since I am forever harping on "know your definitions", I thought I'd throw it out there.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2011, 08:06am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Consistency is good, Scrapper.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2011, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
Its this kind of play that confuses me. Not the play, nor the administration, but it seems to me that there are so many of these nuances to the rules that I cannot get a grasp on all of them. (just finished my third year)

This is probably a stupid question, but what does the "false" mean? I understand the double, and the foul, but do not understand what the "false" means.

Many thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2011, 02:01pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by stir22 View Post
Its this kind of play that confuses me. Not the play, nor the administration, but it seems to me that there are so many of these nuances to the rules that I cannot get a grasp on all of them. (just finished my third year)

This is probably a stupid question, but what does the "false" mean? I understand the double, and the foul, but do not understand what the "false" means.

Many thanks!
It means one of the aspects that would have made it a double/multiple foul is missing.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2011, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
The last foul occured prior to the clock starting after the first foul.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2011, 02:21pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
It means one of the aspects that would have made it a double/multiple foul is missing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
The last foul occured prior to the clock starting after the first foul.
In the original play, the two fouls did not occur at (approximately) the same time. Thus, they do not constitute a double foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
False Double Foul ??? BillyMac Basketball 23 Fri Dec 31, 2010 09:01pm
false double foul..... scat03 Basketball 3 Tue Sep 26, 2006 09:01pm
False double foul Rita C Basketball 8 Wed Jan 14, 2004 04:37pm
False Double Foul?? WAZebra Basketball 4 Fri Jan 09, 2004 05:20pm
False Multiple Foul/ False Double/etc.??? sleebo Basketball 10 Tue Jan 06, 2004 02:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1