![]() |
|
|
|||
Unusual 3 second call
In last night's tournament game I was the C, A1 had the ball on the opposite side of the court and A3 was in the lane by the block nearest me. I was ready to call a violation but A1 had already started a drive to the basket and was on his way up for the lay-in. Seeing he was about to be rejected, A1pulled the ball down and while still airborne tried to make an off-balance pass toward the corner on my side. The ball glanced off the bottom of the backboard, hit the floor and was caught by A3 who would have had an easy put-back but I quickly called A3 for a 3 second violation. My thinking was team control never ended and by this time, A3 had been in the lane for a lot more than :03. Later, I got to thinking of the recent discussion of throwing the ball off a team's own backboard and if team control ended. If so, then perhaps I was wrong. Would appreciate your opinions.
|
|
|||
Here We Go Again ...
Some would argue that throwing the ball and hitting the backboard of the team in possession is always considered a try for goal.
9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Mar 02, 2011 at 07:20pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Sounds to me like you could have called the violation before the pass. If A3 is in to long, A1's drive to the basket is irrelevant.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
HTBT. A1 was far enough in toward the basket that my whistle would likely have coincided with him being airborne or just having released the ball on a try. Didn't want to go there.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Unusual Balk Call | John L | Baseball | 44 | Fri Jun 16, 2006 07:50pm |
A most unusual call... | Camron Rust | Basketball | 4 | Wed Mar 17, 2004 09:58pm |
Unusual | WinterWillie | Basketball | 10 | Mon Mar 01, 2004 09:11am |
unusual-continued | crew | Basketball | 21 | Thu Aug 08, 2002 07:21pm |
An unusual situation | ChuckElias | Basketball | 43 | Sun Aug 04, 2002 09:57pm |