View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 02, 2011, 08:02pm
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Some would argue that throwing the ball and hitting the backboard of the team in possession is always considered a try for goal.

9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
Right. And that is what I was thinking about later. However, all three of us agreed while discussing this after the game that this player was not making an attempt to score. In fact, should he have been fouled while trying to get rid of the ball, we would not have awarded him free throws for being in the act of shooting. He was definitely trying to throw the ball toward the corner. The ball just happened to hit the bottom of the backboard, which brings us back to 9.5 and whether team control ended.
Reply With Quote