The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 09:42pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
So think through the 4 requirements for this violation:

A has TC.
Ball has FC status.
A is last to touch the ball before the ball obtains BC status.
A is first to touch the ball with the ball after having BC status.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
So think through the 4 requirements for this violation:

A has TC. - Yes
Ball has FC status. Yes
A is last to touch the ball before the ball obtains BC status. B touches it but it still had front court status
A is first to touch the ball with the ball after having BC status. A touched the ball having front court status, but A was in BC.
Right? The ball had front court status, not having touched the floor or a player in BC until A1 touched it.

Case book?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 10:03pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
2007-2008 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt.
RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)


This is the interpretation that would make your play a backcourt violation according to the NFHS interpretation. If you search, you'll find a long thread about the merits of this silly (IMO), interpretation. There was a strong majority if I remember correctly that were against this interpretation as it is conflicting with the written rule.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 10:16pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
2007-2008 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt.
RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)


This is the interpretation that would make your play a backcourt violation according to the NFHS interpretation. If you search, you'll find a long thread about the merits of this silly (IMO), interpretation. There was a strong majority if I remember correctly that were against this interpretation as it is conflicting with the written rule.
These old interps are nice to have around. Even the silly ones.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
The root of the forum disagreement with the interp is that the last to touch and first to touch happen at the sametime. The ball cannot have both FC and BC status at the same time.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 10:27pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
The root of the forum disagreement with the interp is that the last to touch and first to touch happen at the sametime. The ball cannot have both FC and BC status at the same time.
That and the rationale for the ruling isn't even correct. It's not a violation to cause the ball to gain backcourt status. If it was, it would be a violation the instant the ball gains backcourt status.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
That and the rationale for the ruling isn't even correct. It's not a violation to cause the ball to gain backcourt status. If it was, it would be a violation the instant the ball gains backcourt status.
And it gained BC status when A1 touched it,correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 12:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
The root of the forum disagreement with the interp is that the last to touch and first to touch happen at the sametime. The ball cannot have both FC and BC status at the same time.
Almost...

For it to be a violation, the rule requires that team A be the last to touch BEFORE and first to touch AFTER the ball gains BC status. One touch can't, in any way, shape, or form, happen both before and after a specific event (gaining BC status).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 03:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
It seems that the rationale is similar to a player OOB being the player who causes the ball to be OOB, when he/she touches or is touched by a live ball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 28, 2011, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Almost...

For it to be a violation, the rule requires that team A be the last to touch BEFORE and first to touch AFTER the ball gains BC status. One touch can't, in any way, shape, or form, happen both before and after a specific event (gaining BC status).
Tell that to the rule makers.

SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt.
RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

The moment/instant A2 touches the ball the must have FC status for the last to touch to apply. The moment/instant A2 touches the ball the ball must have BC status for the first to touch to apply.

Per the rule makers, the ball can have both FC and BC status at the same time.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 06:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
By The Book ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
2007-2008 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations:SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1).
And how is a rookie official, with only the 2010-11 NFHS Rulebook and 2010-11 NFHS casebook, supposed to know this three year old interpretation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 70
Really?

Amazing how many times these back court situations come up on this forum. This is the 4th or 5th in the last month.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 06:50pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatOneRef View Post
Amazing how many times these back court situations come up on this forum. This is the 4th or 5th in the last month.
Umm...you asked a backcourt question not too long ago.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Umm...you asked a backcourt question not too long ago.
Yes i posted one. So what? I was merely commenting on how many backcourt situations come up on the forum. But i'm glad you remember what i post. Makes me feel special.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 07:28pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
And how is a rookie official, with only the 2010-11 NFHS Rulebook and 2010-11 NFHS casebook, supposed to know this three year old interpretation?
He's way ahead if he doesn't know it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt or no? TomSegi Basketball 4 Mon Feb 16, 2009 05:03pm
Backcourt?? Hugh Basketball 72 Thu Mar 22, 2007 05:08pm
Backcourt? Ricejock Basketball 17 Mon Jan 26, 2004 01:54pm
Backcourt? Grail Basketball 2 Fri Jan 23, 2004 09:57am
backcourt A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 8 Thu Jan 15, 2004 09:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1