The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 04:17pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Imho, A's habitual shooting motion continues until they release, violate, or request a TO. Count the basket in your case.
Based on the discription I'm envisioning the play having stopped and then A1 all of a sudden flips the ball in the basket after the play is dead.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Did she "finish her attempt and start another" or "just take a long time to finish her initial attempt?"

You need to decide -- that's why we get the big bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 04:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Did she "finish her attempt and start another" or "just take a long time to finish her initial attempt?"

You need to decide -- that's why we get the big bucks.
Agree.

It's a HTBT and so far we've had 2 different explanations of what happened. In the first, it was stated "A1 continues the act of shooting...". In the second, we're told "I didn't see it as continuation." There's nowayinhell any of us can help out with descriptions like that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
After she was fouled:

Did she travel?

Was she airborne?

Did she return to the floor?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Agree.

It's a HTBT and so far we've had 2 different explanations of what happened. In the first, it was stated "A1 continues the act of shooting...". In the second, we're told "I didn't see it as continuation." There's nowayinhell any of us can help out with descriptions like that.
I can because, She was shooting, she was fouled and was stopped, I blew, Began to move toward the table and she then continued to go forward unimpeded by B1, because when I blew, B1 stopped her action. Imagine, as I said, about a 1 and 1/2 second between the time I blew and she finished the shot. I saw it as 2 different actions. 1st shot attempt and a 2nd. It didn't make a difference in the game. But I am looking to learn, if I made a mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
I can because, She was shooting, she was fouled and was stopped, I blew, Began to move toward the table and she then continued to go forward unimpeded by B1, because when I blew, B1 stopped her action. Imagine, as I said, about a 1 and 1/2 second between the time I blew and she finished the shot. I saw it as 2 different actions. 1st shot attempt and a 2nd. It didn't make a difference in the game. But I am looking to learn, if I made a mistake.
Here's your problem...you need to stay with the play until the playing action stops.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 05:30pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
But I am looking to learn, if I made a mistake.
Then you have to be honest and ask yourself if you can trust your partner or whether you're just trying to justify your call. It looks like your partner was just trying to help out.

There's really nothing that any of us can help you with on this imo because of the conflicting descriptions given.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 06:06pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
I saw it as 2 different actions.
This is what matters. If this is accurate, you made the right call. Based on the description: whistle, B1 noticeably stops, 1 to 1 1/2 second pause, then the shot is released, sounds right to me.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 06:07pm
SAK SAK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
I can because, She was shooting, she was fouled and was stopped, I blew, Began to move toward the table and she then continued to go forward unimpeded by B1, because when I blew, B1 stopped her action. Imagine, as I said, about a 1 and 1/2 second between the time I blew and she finished the shot. I saw it as 2 different actions. 1st shot attempt and a 2nd. It didn't make a difference in the game. But I am looking to learn, if I made a mistake.
You need to determine if it was indeed 2 different shot attempts or if it was one attempt. I am unable to tell if it was was 2 attempts as you said "she finished the shot". That leads me to think that it was the same attempt and the basket should have counted. If the basket does not count and you have the girl in the act of shooting you need to sell the crap out of this call.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
It sounds as if your partner was giving you an either/or: either you had a shooting foul, in which case you must count the basket, or you did not, in which case you wouldn't count the basket. He's ruling out the possibility of a shooting foul that doesn't involve releasing the ball for a try.

He's wrong about that. You might rule that a foul prevents the release of the ball (4-41-2: "It is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.") So it is possible to rule that a foul is a "shooting foul" (not a rulebook term) even though no shot was released.

As to whether you got the call right: that's a judgment call, all the way. HTBT. If she was still moving toward the basket and did not "wind up" a second time, I probably would have counted it. With sufficient delay in time or obvious resetting of the shooting motion, I would have called it as you did.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Thanks everyone.

As I was going to say in a previous post to this, it was like 2 actions, you've seen a foul called on a shot then someone else taps the ball into the net. When I moved toward the table I had already given my preliminary signal and said " Foul on 21 blue 2 shots, 15 shooter " I was about 3 steps past the play when the basket was shot and made....2 actions in my opinion.

As for my partner, he is very experienced. He did say, either or and I understood his point. I just saw the play differently.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 04:51pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Agree.

It's a HTBT and so far we've had 2 different explanations of what happened. In the first, it was stated "A1 continues the act of shooting...". In the second, we're told "I didn't see it as continuation." There's nowayinhell any of us can help out with descriptions like that.
The OP disallowed the basket because of the time factor involved - he incorrectly determined that the large delay after the foul ended the habitual shooting motion, but a shooter is afforded an infinite amount of time in the shooting motion after the foul, so long as s/he doesn't start a new habitual motion, violate or request a timeout. During this infinite time period, another B player could play legal defense again the shooter.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Based on the discription I'm envisioning the play having stopped and then A1 all of a sudden flips the ball in the basket after the play is dead.
That's the way I saw it.

She was on the floor attempting a shot. Did not jump ( 8th grade girls )
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2011, 04:49pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
That's the way I saw it.

She was on the floor attempting a shot. Did not jump ( 8th grade girls )
I hope you did not make a call simply because a player was still on the floor. Nothing you have said makes it clear this shot should not have counted. Actually I am more confused every time you try to justify your position.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
inadvertant whistle with psk foul yankeesfan Football 18 Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:44am
Whistle blown but no foul lukealex Basketball 13 Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:49am
3-Whistle last shot Mike Burns Basketball 10 Wed Dec 10, 2003 10:22pm
Inadvertant Whistle on shot Jeff the Ref Basketball 25 Tue Nov 11, 2003 07:12pm
Double whistle, foul or travel davidw Basketball 6 Thu Feb 07, 2002 04:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1