The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 14, 2002, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Tony,
I am going to give you an analogous situation to hopefully help clarify that this play is not a 2-10 correctable error.

A1 dribbles in for a try. He is fouled by B1 in the act of shooting. The covering official is screened out and cannot see the foul. The shot is missed. Team B rebounds the miss and goes the other end and scores. Team A takes time-out during this dead ball. Now since the coach of team A is screaming at the official who missed the foul, the officials come together for a conference. The covering official on the play asks his partner if he saw a foul. The partner responds, "Yes, but I did not want to call in your primary. I did not know you were screened out."

Now in this senario, we have a rule inadvertently set aside (foul rule) which results in the failure to award merited free throws, since it was a foul in the act of shooting.
Is it a 2-10 correctable error? We are still in the time frame to correct it.

Obviously, not. No one would consider this situation a correctable error.
Therefore, whether the officials fail to call a violation or a foul, it is not correctable. The distinction that you are looking for lies in the enforcement of the rules. If the official fails to call BI by the offense and the basket goes in, counting this score is not considered erroneous and it is not correctable. However, it the official calls the BI and counts the score anyway, then an error has been made in the ENFORCEMENT of a rule and the situation is correctable.
Simply put, correctable errors occur when the officials do or fail to do something in enforcing the penalty after a call is made, not after a call is not made.
Except for judging a 2 or a 3, but that is covered by the casebook 2.10.1F
Hopefully this helps clarify things.
My vote is that "by the book" it is too late to call the backcourt after the ball has gone through the basket. Now in real life, on the court, we may fudge this a bit and possibly wipe out the goal if the following throw-in has not been completed.
I just thought of the recent rule 10.1.8
Read this casebook play and then remember that before it was written this basket was not considered correctable. Once the throw-in preceding it was touched in bounds, "by the book" we had to let play continue and then let the following cheap basket count. Hence this casebook play.
The point is that, by rule, we couldn't cancel this basket if we caught the mistake before the following throw-in was completed. It was too late once the goal was scored. But many of us wiped it out anyway!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1