The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 04, 2011, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orion, MI
Posts: 152
Time out after scored goal

Just wanted to make sure I got this right. VB game.

H1 makes basket. V1 has ball at disposal for throw in and H coach calls TO. No TO granted per 6.1.2b. (I was at the T and looked back to see the ball at the disposal of V1 before granting TO...and I didn't grant it.)

I was 99% sure I was right. HC asked my partner about it, who he knew, and he said he wasn't sure. We talked about it and couldn't come to a consensus. I didn't push the issue, decided that unless it was a flagrantly late TO request that I'd grant the request. Told the HC where we stood and we were off and running.

Good game...big game...home team hall of fame night. I'm getting more of a varsity schedule this year...having fun and getting more and more confident.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 04, 2011, 11:17pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Yep... if it's at their disposal the ball is live and the 5-second count should have started. Thus, in your case, no TO can be granted to Team H.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 11:00am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,667
"Time Out, Time Out, Time Out" ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
The 5-second count should have started.
I've quoted the most important part, mechanics wise, of tjones1 post. Once you've started counting, it's too late to grant the timeout request from the non-thrower-in team. This is why the nonadministering official must be cognizant of his partner's count.

Remember, if either official mistakenly does sound the whistle to grant this request, now you have a dead ball, and you now have to grant the request.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Yep... if it's at their disposal the ball is live and the 5-second count should have started. Thus, in your case, no TO can be granted to Team H.
Remember the editorial change that was made this year. Ball is not "at the disposal" until it's available after the goal AND the official has started his count. In the OP, if the official had not yet started his count, the request for a TO should have been granted.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 12:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,667
Newbies Take Note ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jearef View Post
Remember the editorial change that was made this year. Ball is not "at the disposal" until it's available after the goal AND the official has started his count. In the OP, if the official had not yet started his count, the request for a TO should have been granted.
Great post jearef.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 12:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jearef View Post
Remember the editorial change that was made this year. Ball is not "at the disposal" until it's available after the goal AND the official has started his count. In the OP, if the official had not yet started his count, the request for a TO should have been granted.
True, but he said it was "at the disposal." We can assume that this means it was "at the disposal".

Now, my question is, if he was T, why did he have to "look back" at the ball to see if it was at the disposal. I'm not quite sure what he means by this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 01:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,667
Revolving Door Philosophy ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
He said it was "at the disposal." We can assume that this means it was "at the disposal".
Is this another one of those revolving door interpretations?
When is it at his disposal? When you start counting.
When do you start counting? When it's at his disposal.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orion, MI
Posts: 152
Count had started. I was transitioning to L (3-man). I always do a quick check of my "running lane" when transitioning.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 06:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog5142 View Post
Count had started. I was transitioning to L (3-man). I always do a quick check of my "running lane" when transitioning.
Ok, you were L. That's where I got confused, I thought you were T. I see now what you meant.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
The "rule change" this season was one of the most ambiguous ever made and really didn't clear up anything. If the thrower doesn't have the ball yet and the opposing coach calls timeout, I'm granting the timeout.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2011, 12:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 70
Like the post

Love the post, just ran into this problem the other night, ended up gave the coach the t/o. Had to ask my partner who also didn't know. But the coach put up a good argument and i knew him from seasons before and knew he was honest. Thanks for the post tho! Glad i got it right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Out before the Field Goal MD Longhorn Football 13 Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:45pm
Hand Ball, goal scored, Red Card? hbioteach Soccer 13 Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:05pm
Int Between Player who has already scored and F2 Rattlehead Softball 6 Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:14pm
appeal/run scored kld9 Baseball 4 Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:23am
Run scored CK Baseball 10 Tue Jul 08, 2003 05:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1