|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Rule 6-4
			 
			
			A question came up in our crew last night in regards to whether or not to switch the alternating possesion arrow.  The situation is below: Jump ball is called Team A is inbounding the ball and the ball is kicked by Team B on the throw-in Question was whether or not Team A should retain the possession arrow after the throw-in by Team A or if the possession arrow still switches to Team B after the throw-in by Team A?? Any thoughts/clairifcation on this would be appreciated. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Another situation related to this topic: Jump ball is called and it is Team A's possession Team A is inbounding the ball and throws it off of the backside of the backboard. Team B is awarded the ball due to Team A throwing the ball off the backside of the backboard. Does Team A retain the possession arrow in this situation or is it switched to Team B after Team B's throw-in?? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
   | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Thanks Scrapper!!  I didn't see your post before I posted the 2nd situation.  Very helpful!!
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			A really easy way to keep this straight is simply to remember the rule for when the arrow changes.  The arrow only changes if one of two things happens: 1) The alternating possession throw-in is completed; or 2) The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation. That's it. That's the list. So now the question in your original post becomes a very easy one. Was the AP throw-in completed? No, because it was not touched LEGALLY inbounds. So the arrow doesn't change. And since the ensuing throw-in is the result of a violation and not a held ball, the arrow won't change after that throw-in either. Keep that very simple list in mind, and you'll never have to wonder about whether to switch the arrow. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			We did look at the rule book after our game and were a bit confused by the rule, in that it states, "The throw-in ends when the ball TOUCHES or is legally touched by another player inbounds."  In theory it TOUCHED a player inbounds.  That is where the confusion came from.  Thanks again for the replies!!
		 Last edited by iaref; Sat Jan 29, 2011 at 11:51am. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Example: A player is touched by the ball when it bounces off their back when they don't see it coming...or bounces off their leg/foot but it is not a kick. A player touches the ball when they intentionally make contact with the ball. 
				__________________ Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| I violated rule #1.....not THAT rule #1 | Judtech | Basketball | 148 | Mon Jan 31, 2011 09:09am | 
| Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule | wadeintothem | Softball | 5 | Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm | 
| Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule | TxJim | Football | 14 | Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm |