The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2011, 05:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by McMac View Post
Had a play in my MS boys game Thursday night. Player was out of bounds (legally), got one foot (other off floor) in bounds then touched the ball. I was in the L and made no call. My partner in the T calls the play dead stating he was still out of bounds.

We discussed the play and we both saw the play as above. I made no call thinking you only need one foot in to re-establish inbound status. She called it because he did not have two feet in bounds. What is the correct ruling? I could not find it in either the rule book or case book.
1. You were correct. One foot in, nothing out. No need to "re-establish with two feet." If you're in contact with your partner, point her to 4-35. There is no provision anywhere else requiring "two feet."

2. Even if I thought the player was out of bounds, there is no way in hell I'm making that call from Trail.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2011, 06:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
1. You were correct. One foot in, nothing out. No need to "re-establish with two feet." If you're in contact with your partner, point her to 4-35. There is no provision anywhere else requiring "two feet."

2. Even if I thought the player was out of bounds, there is no way in hell I'm making that call from Trail.
Now that I look at 4-35, which I did at halftime of that game the other night, but in the rush of things just didn't see it, 4-35-2 states:

"When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in the backcourt, out of bounds or inside the three-point line, respectively."

That gives the answer clear as day. He is not touching out of bounds, therefore he was in-bounds.

Thank you for point it out Snaq.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2011, 07:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,464
Should Have Called The Mythbusters ...

If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

Also: You are where you were until you get where you're going.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 24, 2011, 02:11pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by McMac View Post
4-35-2 states:

"When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in the backcourt, out of bounds or inside the three-point line, respectively."

That gives the answer clear as day. He is not touching out of bounds, therefore he was in-bounds.
Almost, but not quite. Because 4-35-3 states that "the location of an airborne player. . . is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor. . ."

So if the player was last in contact with the floor out of bounds and jumps, he's not inbounds simply because he's no longer touching out of bounds. He continues to be out of bounds until some part of him is touching the court inbounds.

I think you probably already know this. I'm just over-clarifying.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run the endline ripcord51 Basketball 4 Thu Jan 21, 2010 04:59pm
End of the Endline? Rick Durkee Basketball 4 Wed Feb 08, 2006 02:57pm
endline? deecee Basketball 7 Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:03am
Can the endline still be run? kokayne Basketball 56 Fri Jan 27, 2006 09:43am
who may run the endline? beSmith Basketball 5 Fri May 26, 2000 12:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1