The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member

Time out

Glad I found this site, as a coach I always like to learn and possibly somebody could answer this for me. This happened a couple of years back in a game that i was scouting.

Team A is at the line shooting a FT. When the shooter was handed the ball the opposing coach called time-out, I believe that it was kind of a slime ball play to be honest. This caused kind of a mess.

First thing that happened was the shooter stopped and passed the ball to the official. Players then started walking towards the benches.

Next the ref granted the time-out.

Turns out the coach did not have a time-out and stated to the ref "The player had the ball, you can't grant me a time-out."....as I said slime ball move.

What should have happened in this situation? If I recall the they allowed the player to take the shots and a T was given to the coach.
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 02:00pm
We don't rent pigs

A coach cannot call a timeout, he can only make a request, which must subsequently be granted by the official. In this situation, the ball is live, and in control of the opponent, so, by rule, the timeout should not be granted. If the shooter passed the ball to the official, this should have been a violation. If the coach has no timeout but requested one anyway, if the official granted it, properly or not, he gets his timeout, along with a technical foul.

Lonesome Dove
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member

So the correct call should have been that Team B recieves the ball because the shooter failed to hit the Cylinder?

Last edited by ttt; Sun Jan 16, 2011 at 02:11pm.
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 02:10pm
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If the shooter passed the ball to the official, this should have been a violation.