![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Only an official can grant a timeout. But a player or a coach can definitely CALL timeout.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Sun Jan 16, 2011 at 02:54pm. |
|
|||
I agree this one has been beat to death. The point I was making, which I thought needed to be said in this case, was that nothing the coach said or did could kill the play, this has to be done by the official.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
There is a case book play stating to penalize a verbal fake with a violation, such as one player telling an opponent to switch lane spaces after the shooter has the ball. That seems similar to what the coach did.
I have no problem with the answer of JR, and believe that there is rules support. |
|
|||
Hey Man, You’re In My Personal Space ...
Quote:
(a) B1; or (b) A2, in a marked lane space, fakes by rocking forward causing an opponent to enter the lane prematurely. RULING: In (a), the official will use the proper signal indicating a violation by B1 and a substitute free throw is awarded if A1’s attempt is unsuccessful. If it is successful, the violation is ignored. In (b), the official will sound his/her whistle immediately when A2 violates. The violation cancels A1’s attempt and it is B’s ball for a throw-in, unless an additional free throw(s) is involved. COMMENT: If a player uses verbal tactics like “you’re in my space” or a time-out request to fake an opponent into violations, only the fake is penalized. (9-1-3b Penalty 1, 4d)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
The coach's time-out request came while A1 still had the ball and since his request was granted the ball became immediately dead when he made his request. Not possible for A1 to violate since the ball was dead.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
An improperly made request does not cause the ball to be immediately dead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
You know, similar to "improper throw-in, coach's comment, 3-point shot taken, basket made, then a whistle."
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
A foul causes the ball to be dead, a timeout request does not. When was the request granted? According to the OP, the player heard the request, threw the ball to the official, then the timeout was granted. I took this to mean the official originally intended to ignore the request.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
In this case it made the ball dead b/c it was disconcertion.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
No, but the granting of it does. And you have no idea when the TO was really granted from the confused description we're being given from a non-official.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Putting Time on the Clock for Requested Time Out | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 10 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:20pm |
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster | SoInZebra | Basketball | 122 | Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm |
the time displayed as post time is way off | chuck chopper | General / Off-Topic | 2 | Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm |
Another long time listener, first time caller | Fifth And Goal | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am |
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? | Deion | Softball | 1 | Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am |