The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member

Questions from a coach

I'm a head coach who attempts to have some knowledge of the NFHS rulebook and have some, but limited knowledge about coverage areas. Two questions from a game yesterday. A referee put an offensive player at the line based on "continuation." The ref told me that it was "absolutly in the rulebook." I didn't think that that rule was in effect for high school. Looking for some clairity because I don't have my rulebook handy. Another question I have is about coverage area. My team was applying full court pressure, had a trap right on the baseline and the ref that was across half court (lead official?) made the call. I understand that a call should be made if it is seen but doesn't that make your partner look bad if he was close to the play? I umpire collegiate level baseball games in the spring and understand what calls should be made by each umpire and how it can hang your partner out to dry just looking to see how those in the basketball world see it.
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 12:15pm
Keeper of the HAMMER

1. Yes, the rule is pretty much the same at all levels for "continuation." If the player is fouled after he has begun his shooting motion, which can start as soon as he begins to "gather" the ball from a dribble, then he will be shooting free throws and/or credited with a made basket.
2. Coverage areas on presses are tricky. Was the trap close to the lead's sideline? Sometimes these traps present angle problems for the trail official and the lead needs to get it.
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 12:17pm
#thereferee99

Quick replies (that's all i ever give coaches!) :-)

Possibly a poor choice of words from the official. If player had begun their habitual throwing motion, then they were in the act of shooting.