The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
When it occurs. The technical occurs when you add the player to the book, not when the player entered the game.
It is penalized when the infraction occurs, which is when the player enters the game. The HC is asking the scorer to add his player to the book when the player enters the game.

Am I reading 10.1.2b completely wrong? It seems fairly specific. I had this play happen two years ago and called the technical and was corrected when I posted about it here.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 10:21pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
It is penalized when the infraction occurs, which is when the player enters the game. The HC is asking the scorer to add his player to the book when the player enters the game.

Am I reading 10.1.2b completely wrong? It seems fairly specific. I had this play happen two years ago and called the technical and was corrected when I posted about it here.
You are interpreting it wrong. The infraction is for entering the name into the book. The name is not yet in the book and wasn't on the submitted roster (even though in hindsight you said it was).

Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
So what is the difference between "occurs" and "discovered" in 10-1-2? Is the case play 10.1.2b wrong?
In the case play the name was entered into the book and the ball became live before discovered by the officials.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
It is penalized when the infraction occurs, which is when the player enters the game. The HC is asking the scorer to add his player to the book when the player enters the game.

Am I reading 10.1.2b completely wrong? It seems fairly specific. I had this play happen two years ago and called the technical and was corrected when I posted about it here.
You must be reading it wrong. The answers you have been given are correct. See also 3.2.2C(a) -- it's nearly your exact play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 10:30pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
It is penalized when the infraction occurs, which is when the player enters the game.
It has nothing to do with when the player enters the game. The player can play the whole game without penalty if no one notices and his name is never added.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
ZM1283 -

The infraction IS the adding of the name. NOT entering the game. When the name IS ADDED to the book the infraction HAS OCCURED. Issue the T accordingly.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
You must be reading it wrong. The answers you have been given are correct. See also 3.2.2C(a) -- it's nearly your exact play.
Looked at it.....thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It has nothing to do with when the player enters the game. The player can play the whole game without penalty if no one notices and his name is never added.
Okay, I stand corrected.

Do you guys agree that we should have had a CE after it was discovered that V12 was on the roster submitted before the game?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Looked at it.....thanks.



Okay, I stand corrected.

Do you guys agree that we should have had a CE after it was discovered that V12 was on the roster submitted before the game?
I will agree that before issuing the T you should have done some legwork and request the roster that the visiting team submitted and check if it were a score keeper error. That would have avoided the whole situation to begin with.

Other than that wipe out the points for the free throws as they were un-merited. I can also argue using common sense that this T can be rescinded as this T has reprucussions. The most noticeable is that it is an indirect on the coach.

You can never go wrong going with the book but I will find anyone who would disagree with the T being rescinded (except of course the opposing coach).
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 11:10pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Other than that wipe out the points for the free throws as they were un-merited. I can also argue using common sense that this T can be rescinded as this T has repercussions. The most noticeable is that it is an indirect on the coach.
Administrative T, team T, no indirect on the coach.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Administrative T, team T, no indirect on the coach.
yes my brain fart.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 29, 2010, 01:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
So are these unmerited FTs or not? Can they be canceled?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 11:14pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Other than that wipe out the points for the free throws as they were un-merited. I can also argue using common sense that this T can be rescinded as this T has reprucussions. The most noticeable is that it is an indirect on the coach.
Are you sure about that? Technical fouls assessed under NFHS 10-1 are Team Technicals and not charged to the head coach directly or indirectly. (See also, p 70 of the 2010-11 rule book, Technical Foul Penalty summary.)
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Do you guys agree that we should have had a CE after it was discovered that V12 was on the roster submitted before the game?
No. Under what element would you correct it? It's not an unmerited free throw. You assessed a T therefore it was merited. Your T was maybe unmeritted, but that's not a correctable error. Whether or not V12 was on the roster should have been determined before you issued the T.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 29, 2010, 08:02am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mregor View Post
no. Under what element would you correct it? It's not an unmerited free throw. You assessed a t therefore it was merited. Your t was maybe unmeritted, but that's not a correctable error. Whether or not v12 was on the roster should have been determined before you issued the t.
+1
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 29, 2010, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Okay, I stand corrected.
...have you told the ol' boy you officiated with this?
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how messy can a game get? zeedonk Basketball 6 Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:26am
Situation WinterWillie Softball 11 Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:27pm
Messy AP PLay MOFFICIAL Basketball 8 Tue Jan 22, 2008 08:52am
messy time out daveg144 Basketball 5 Mon Jan 21, 2008 07:47pm
Messy situation, rule mistake zebraman Basketball 21 Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1