The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 03:30pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
I had this happen earlier this season, except it was a tipped ball on a throw-in with no frontcourt control that ended up in the backcourt.

I hit my whistle to get my partner's attention, went to my partner, talked to him, the light went on, and he declared an IW and we played on. He thanked me at halftime.

Of course, my partner that night is one of my best friends and I am completely comfortable doing that (and with him doing that) at any time. It's a different dynamic for the OP. Maybe it shouldn't be, but is.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
To be the jerk in the room....(J/k but just saying )
It seems to me you were ball watching. If you are in the L you would be the furthest from the play. I'd let it go until I had a chance to ask them about it later. And it can be done very easily at half/end of quarter or end of game. As you review your game just ask them what they had on the back court violation. Tell him, and he probably already knows, that the coach had a question about it and you didnt "have a good look".
NOW, if YOU were the T and THEY were the L and they blew a back court violation, I would be more prone to stop play and have a conversation with them. In fact have done so on a couple of occasions with "newbies". It does make a great teaching point on several levels. 1) As I stated earlier, I ask them why they were looking at the instead of the other 6-8 players on the floor. 2) Review what constitutes a back court violation and 3) although rare, admit that I probably made an error
Hope that didnt sound too jerky!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
To be the jerk in the room....(J/k but just saying )
It seems to me you were ball watching. If you are in the L you would be the furthest from the play. I'd let it go until I had a chance to ask them about it later. And it can be done very easily at half/end of quarter or end of game. As you review your game just ask them what they had on the back court violation. Tell him, and he probably already knows, that the coach had a question about it and you didnt "have a good look".
NOW, if YOU were the T and THEY were the L and they blew a back court violation, I would be more prone to stop play and have a conversation with them. In fact have done so on a couple of occasions with "newbies". It does make a great teaching point on several levels. 1) As I stated earlier, I ask them why they were looking at the instead of the other 6-8 players on the floor. 2) Review what constitutes a back court violation and 3) although rare, admit that I probably made an error
Hope that didnt sound too jerky!!
You're ASSuming the thowin was not on the lead's line. If it was, the lead SHOULD be watching the ball until it is touched.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 05:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You're ASSuming the thowin was not on the lead's line. If it was, the lead SHOULD be watching the ball until it is touched.
This was the exact play for which I went to my partner. I was lead, administering the throw-in. Ball went into the BC where the throwing team gained control. Partner called BC. My only regret is that I didn't have her announce the IW.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
To be the jerk in the room....(J/k but just saying )
It seems to me you were ball watching. If you are in the L you would be the furthest from the play. I'd let it go until I had a chance to ask them about it later. And it can be done very easily at half/end of quarter or end of game. As you review your game just ask them what they had on the back court violation. Tell him, and he probably already knows, that the coach had a question about it and you didnt "have a good look".
I disagree. You don't have to be ball watching to be wide enough to see what's going on with the throw-in. I'm offering my partner help if he needs it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
I had this happen earlier this season, except it was a tipped ball on a throw-in with no frontcourt control that ended up in the backcourt.

I hit my whistle to get my partner's attention, went to my partner, talked to him, the light went on, and he declared an IW and we played on. He thanked me at halftime.

Of course, my partner that night is one of my best friends and I am completely comfortable doing that (and with him doing that) at any time. It's a different dynamic for the OP. Maybe it shouldn't be, but is.
You had the above play happen, except that it was a tipped ball? If so, that's a violation as I understand it. The tip ends the throw-in. So A1 inbounds, B1 tips, A2 jumps from frontcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt? Violation.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 05:23pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach View Post
You had the above play happen, except that it was a tipped ball? If so, that's a violation as I understand it. The tip ends the throw-in. So A1 inbounds, B1 tips, A2 jumps from frontcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt? Violation.
Not to speak for Rich but the way I read his post, there was a throw in, a tip by a player in his/her team's front court and then a subsequent touch by the same team in the back court.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Maybe, but he said "I had this happen" so I thought I'd jump in
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 05:27pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I just figured he had a "Bad backcourt call by partner" also happen this season.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach View Post
You had the above play happen, except that it was a tipped ball? If so, that's a violation as I understand it. The tip ends the throw-in. So A1 inbounds, B1 tips, A2 jumps from frontcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt? Violation.
On A's throwin, it doesn't matter if A or B tips the throwin pass, and A recovers in the backcourt. There is no team control on the throwin, and a tip by either team doesn't establish control, so the recovery in the backcourt by A does not constitute a violation....
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 12:28am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
On A's throwin, it doesn't matter if A or B tips the throwin pass, and A recovers in the backcourt. There is no team control on the throwin, and a tip by either team doesn't establish control, so the recovery in the backcourt by A does not constitute a violation....
A tip does not establish control, but a tip does end the throw-in. If the ball is tipped by either team, then caught by A1 who jumped from the frontcourt and lands in the backcourt, this is a violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 01:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A tip does not establish control, but a tip does end the throw-in. If the ball is tipped by either team, then caught by A1 who jumped from the frontcourt and lands in the backcourt, this is a violation.
And that a point that could be a subject of the "if you could change one rule" thread.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 01:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
And that a point that could be a subject of the "if you could change one rule" thread.
I still think that is not right, to respectfully disagree. There has to be control established before the backcourt kicks in....and the tip, while it ends the throwin, does not establish control. If A2 catches the tipped ball in the air, and lands in backcourt, no backcourt violation. If A2 throws it (controlled) into backcourt to A3 then you have control and a backcourt violation. I believe this to be true, due to my training about the necessity of control first, but I can be convinced otherwise (and should be), if that is the case....thanks for your thoughts....
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 02:08am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
I still think that is not right, to respectfully disagree. There has to be control established before the backcourt kicks in....and the tip, while it ends the throwin, does not establish control. If A2 catches the tipped ball in the air, and lands in backcourt, no backcourt violation. If A2 throws it (controlled) into backcourt to A3 then you have control and a backcourt violation. I believe this to be true, due to my training about the necessity of control first, but I can be convinced otherwise (and should be), if that is the case....thanks for your thoughts....
9.9.1D is this exact play. I don't like it either, but by rule, it is a violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2010, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
I still think that is not right, to respectfully disagree. There has to be control established before the backcourt kicks in....and the tip, while it ends the throwin, does not establish control. If A2 catches the tipped ball in the air, and lands in backcourt, no backcourt violation. If A2 throws it (controlled) into backcourt to A3 then you have control and a backcourt violation. I believe this to be true, due to my training about the necessity of control first, but I can be convinced otherwise (and should be), if that is the case....thanks for your thoughts....
I'm not sure what's so hard about this. Don't these 2 statements contradict each other? Once A2 catches the ball, control is established, by rule, and A2's court location is also established, by rule. Definite violation.

Also, to me at least, the throw-in exception makes sense in that the exception applies only during a throw-in. And, according to the rule, the throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in-bounds, so it makes sense the exception ends at that moment as well.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partner and backcourt call. hbioteach Basketball 4 Thu May 10, 2007 03:09pm
Did my partner make the right call? Illinois blue Softball 4 Fri Apr 29, 2005 11:07pm
BackCourt Mistake by Partner (What would you do?) hbioteach Basketball 14 Sat Feb 19, 2005 01:44am
Great call, partner Nevadaref Basketball 48 Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:29am
partner making call refjef40 Softball 3 Mon Apr 24, 2000 05:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1