The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
Poaching my signal?

Worked with probably my favorite partner this weekend -- knowledgeable, sharp, in it for the kids. Just a good guy who should be getting more top games, in my opinion. Probably no coincidence assignors pair him with me so they have their behinds covered with at least half a crew that knows which end is up.

Anyway ... just wanted to see what the board thought of a minor sequence we had in a free-throw scenario. I'm L and bounce the ball to the FT shooter. After he has the ball and as I'm backing out of the lane, one of his opponents above the top of the key decides to occupy the top lane spot opposite me -- in what will be/is my coverage area (basically right in front of my partner).

Partner is all over it and gets the arm bar out while I'm still backing off the court. The FT shooter converted so there was nothing to enforce. But my question is: Was he appropriate in taking that call? I saw it and would have signaled once I was behind the endline. And should I have mimicked his arm bar once I was in position anyway?

Don't know if it's really worth a hill of beans since he had the situation covered. But don't know if it might ever come up again -- with a partner at T who would purposely NOT signal in this situation on the basis that it's my call to make.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 10:19am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Worked with probably my favorite partner this weekend -- knowledgeable, sharp, in it for the kids. Just a good guy who should be getting more top games, in my opinion. Probably no coincidence assignors pair him with me so they have their behinds covered with at least half a crew that knows which end is up.

Anyway ... just wanted to see what the board thought of a minor sequence we had in a free-throw scenario. I'm L and bounce the ball to the FT shooter. After he has the ball and as I'm backing out of the lane, one of his opponents above the top of the key decides to occupy the top lane spot opposite me -- in what will be/is my coverage area (basically right in front of my partner).

Partner is all over it and gets the arm bar out while I'm still backing off the court. The FT shooter converted so there was nothing to enforce. But my question is: Was he appropriate in taking that call? I saw it and would have signaled once I was behind the endline. And should I have mimicked his arm bar once I was in position anyway?

Don't know if it's really worth a hill of beans since he had the situation covered. But don't know if it might ever come up again -- with a partner at T who would purposely NOT signal in this situation on the basis that it's my call to make.
Get it right. The player came from his field of vision. The violator was in his primary coverage area and proceeded to go into yours. I don't see this as an issue.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
If I'm reading the OP correctly

The call was your partners. The violation occurred when the opponent broke the plane of the 3-point line. I believe your partner was correct in signalling the violation at that time.

Although, I wouldn't think anything of it either way.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 255
+1. The violation began in his PCA and he followed through with it. I think he made the right call.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
Get it right. The player came from his field of vision. The violator was in his primary coverage area and proceeded to go into yours. I don't see this as an issue.
Agreed. We don't care whether the center or the lead calls a lane violation. We just want to get it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Our mechanics have us dividing the players between the two covering officials, not to keep the "wrong" official from calling the violation but to ensure that at least one official is watching each player. If the violation is called, we've done what needed doing.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ref Signal - #2 eyezen Basketball 20 Thu Feb 01, 2007 08:46am
What is the signal? ncump7 Basketball 9 Tue Nov 21, 2006 02:22pm
Ref Signal bradriney Basketball 4 Fri Mar 24, 2006 07:14pm
Tip signal... thumpferee Basketball 6 Sat Jan 08, 2005 04:13am
What's the signal joe bonner Football 3 Mon Sep 23, 2002 09:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1