![]() |
|
|||
What would you do?
HS game:
I at the C position. White 23 drives the lane in my PCA. I am referring the defense. Blue 11 has a legal guarding position and gets plowed over. I blow my whistle and look across the key and the 'L' has a whistle. I make eye contact with him and wait. The game is at stand still. I waited about a second (so it seems). I call the charge. White coach is upset, yada yada yada. At half time, as soon as we get in the locker room, that same official gets in my face telling me that I was out of position, it was his primary, and I didn't even look at him. I said I waited to see what you had. He said that he had a foul on the arm. I told him that blue 11 had legal guarding position. AT that time he calls me a liar. What would you do now? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I would review PCAs with the crew and double whistles. |
|
|||
Exactly!!! That was the issue!!! Earlier in the game I had two double whistles with the other official in the game (3 man). No issue with him. This official that called me a liar caused a lot of tension in the locker room.
|
|
|||
Work a two man crew since I would lay him out if he got in my face
![]() Just joking. Actually, I would ask him to calm down and let's talk about this like professionals. If he refused to do so, I would ignore him and request not to be assigned with him in the future. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
there are a couple of issues here, IMHO:
1) the C should not have a whistle on block/charge plays going to the basket. these plays should be called by the Lead...because the Lead has the best view of where the defender came from, when he got there, and if he established LGP (remember, the defender that takes the charge is not the primary-on-ball-defender...it's the defender coming over from the help-side...the Lead is the only official with a good view on this play). When C blows the whistle, your situation is what typicalls happens: both C and L have a whistle and both stand there waiting for the other to take the call. Usually one of two things happens: you have a blarge (which we'd like to avoid - but if it happens, so what - just administer it by rule and move on) or each official looks like they don't know what to call (when really they each know what to call there just not sure who should call it). In either scenario - it's not the best outcome... 2) the half-time comments. simly turn to your 3rd partner and say: "well, looks like you and I will have to work hard in the second half, because anyone who can't tell when someone is looking at him and uses the "liar, liar, pants on fire" defense is a terrible official and shouldn't be working this game".... ![]() that otta take care of the situation! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
If he caught the ball around the elbow area of your primary ("C") and drove to the lane you were right by blowing the whistle. Lead should have a slow whistle if anything, knowing it came from your primary.
I don't agree with jeffpea Last edited by hawkeyegb; Tue Dec 14, 2010 at 11:07am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Where I come from...we pre-game this to be the L's call IF it is a secondary defender in the L's primary.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Even if it is coming from C's primary and L is across the paint?
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() But to this earth-bound mortal it makes more sense that while the C is focused on the primary defender, watching that whole play, the L picks up any secondary defender and can see that whole play. Of course, it would be better if he pinched the paint on this.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|