![]() |
|
|
|||
?? back court violation
Team A is on offense and shoots the ball. Team A player tips the ball backwards and it goes into the backcourt. Another Team A player picks up the ball again and advances the ball.
Is this a backcourt violation? Thanks. |
|
|||
TC is lost on the shot, was it ever gained again?
|
|
|||
Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Your verbiage is too confusing imo. You can control a tip without establishing player and thus team control. You can control a tip from one end of the court to the other aamof without establishing player control.
|
|
|||
Controlled in this case would mean that it was the start of a dribble. This came up a couple years ago in either the case book or one of the pre-season NFHS fliers that comes with the books, might of been the OHSAA flier. Caused a big debate in our association and general consensus was that if you determine a tip or a player batting the ball back in bounds, your asking for whatever comes next.
|
|
|||
Quote:
By rule there's no player control on either a batt or a tipp. Are you thinking of case book play 7.1.1SitD? In that one, the player caught the ball; he didn't batt or tip it back in-bounds. And btw, while you're in the case book, 4.12.6(b) is the reference for answering bbcowboy's original question. Touched, tipped, batted...same, same....none establish player control. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Dec 12, 2010 at 12:24pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Not a lot of room for discussion once you note the patently obvious failure to regain TC til ball reaches BC.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Back Court Violation ? | trsandy | Basketball | 23 | Wed Feb 10, 2010 01:34pm |
yet another back court violation | sny1120 | Basketball | 3 | Sat Feb 26, 2005 05:08pm |
Back court violation | edge62 | Basketball | 12 | Wed Feb 23, 2005 09:57am |
Back Court Violation | Ricejock | Basketball | 16 | Sun Jan 30, 2005 06:12am |
Back court Violation? | jerrydon | Basketball | 5 | Tue May 01, 2001 05:43pm |