The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   ?? back court violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60097-back-court-violation.html)

bbcowboy Sat Dec 11, 2010 05:32pm

?? back court violation
 
Team A is on offense and shoots the ball. Team A player tips the ball backwards and it goes into the backcourt. Another Team A player picks up the ball again and advances the ball.
Is this a backcourt violation?
Thanks.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 11, 2010 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbcowboy (Post 706945)
Team A is on offense and shoots the ball. Team A player tips the ball backwards and it goes into the backcourt. Another Team A player picks up the ball again and advances the ball.
Is this a backcourt violation?
Thanks.

TC is lost on the shot, was it ever gained again?

SNIPERBBB Sat Dec 11, 2010 08:17pm

Unless the officials judge that the tip was controlled, then it would not be a violation as there was no team control.

BillyMac Sat Dec 11, 2010 08:20pm

Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
 
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

Adam Sat Dec 11, 2010 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 706968)
Unless the officials judge that the tip was controlled, then it would not be a violation as there was no team control.

Is a "controlled" tip included in the events than begin team control?

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 12, 2010 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 706968)
Unless the officials judge that the tip was controlled, then it would not be a violation as there was no team control.

Your verbiage is too confusing imo. You can control a tip without establishing player and thus team control. You can control a tip from one end of the court to the other aamof without establishing player control.

SNIPERBBB Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:44am

Controlled in this case would mean that it was the start of a dribble. This came up a couple years ago in either the case book or one of the pre-season NFHS fliers that comes with the books, might of been the OHSAA flier. Caused a big debate in our association and general consensus was that if you determine a tip or a player batting the ball back in bounds, your asking for whatever comes next.

Adam Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 707037)
Controlled in this case would mean that it was the start of a dribble. This came up a couple years ago in either the case book or one of the pre-season NFHS fliers that comes with the books, might of been the OHSAA flier. Caused a big debate in our association and general consensus was that if you determine a tip or a player batting the ball back in bounds, your asking for whatever comes next.

Are you saying that if you consider these to be "control," then you're asking for trouble? Or that if you consider these not to be control, you're asking for trouble? It's not clear.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 707037)
Controlled in this case would mean that it was the start of a dribble. This came up a couple years ago in either the case book or one of the pre-season NFHS fliers that comes with the books, might of been the OHSAA flier. Caused a big debate in our association and general consensus was that if you determine a tip or a player batting the ball back in bounds, your asking for whatever comes next.

I'm with Snaqs...confused.

By rule there's no player control on either a batt or a tipp.

Are you thinking of case book play 7.1.1SitD? In that one, the player caught the ball; he didn't batt or tip it back in-bounds.

And btw, while you're in the case book, 4.12.6(b) is the reference for answering bbcowboy's original question. Touched, tipped, batted...same, same....none establish player control.

justacoach Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbcowboy (Post 706945)
Team A is on offense and shoots the ball. Team A player tips the ball backwards and it goes into the backcourt. Another Team A player picks up the ball again and advances the ball.
Is this a backcourt violation?
Thanks.

#1 son had this call deemed a BC violation by 3 of the 4 officials who witnessed the play. Guess whose integrity and reputation are still intact after the assn interpreter gave correct ruling? No Call
Not a lot of room for discussion once you note the patently obvious failure to regain TC til ball reaches BC.

BillyMac Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:40pm

Chicken, Meet Egg ...
 
When does team control begin?

4-12-2-A: A team is in control of the ball: When a player of the team is in control.

OK. When does a player gain control?

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

OK. When does a player start a dribble?

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Questions? Do you have to have control first to start a dribble with a bat? Or does the bat to start a dribble establish control? Someone passes him the ball and instead of catching it, he bats it to the floor? Can you bat a ball into the air to start a dribble? How does one distinguish a bat into the air that is a dribble, versus a bat into the air that's a shot, versus a bat into the air that's a pass, like maybe a pass into the backcourt? Does one have to read minds to determine intent?

Anybody got an aspirin?

BillyMac Tue Dec 14, 2010 08:01am

Inquiring Minds Want To Know ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 707064)
4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Questions? Do you have to have control first to start a dribble with a bat? Or does the bat to start a dribble establish control? Someone passes him the ball and instead of catching it, he bats it to the floor? Can you bat a ball into the air to start a dribble? How does one distinguish a bat into the air that is a dribble, versus a bat into the air that's a shot, versus a bat into the air that's a pass, like maybe a pass into the backcourt? Does one have to read minds to determine intent?

Hey guys? These were not rhetorical questions. Is this microphone working?

bob jenkins Tue Dec 14, 2010 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 707064)
Does one have to read minds to determine intent?

No, but sometimes you do have to officiate.

Back In The Saddle Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 707355)
Hey guys? These were not rhetorical questions. Is this microphone working?

You're not normally judging intent, but outcomes. Often you cannot determine if it is a dribble until you see what happens next. If he bats the ball to the floor, then continues dribbling...it was the start of a dribble. If he bats it to the floor, then grabs it off the bounce...it was not the start of a dribble. If he bats the ball into the air, lets it hit the ground, then continues dribbling...it was the start of a dribble. etc.

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 14, 2010 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 707412)
You're not normally judging intent, but outcomes. Often you cannot determine if it is a dribble until you see what happens next. If he bats the ball to the floor, then continues dribbling...it was the start of a dribble. If he bats it to the floor, then grabs it off the bounce...it was not the start of a dribble. If he bats the ball into the air, lets it hit the ground, then continues dribbling...it was the start of a dribble. etc.

And if he batts or taps the ball to another player or himself in the air, then that's a batt or tap without player control if you judge the ball never came to rest in the batter/tapper's hand(s) during the batt/tap.

And so it is written; and so it shall be.

Now quit using common sense. You're confusing Billy. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1