![]() |
|
|
|||
Did I do this right?
NFHS Rules.
I have a held ball, with the arrow pointing towards Team A. After the whistle for the held ball, and before the AP throw-in, B1 pushes A1. I call the tech for intentional contact during a dead ball. As I go to report what happened, the table guy switches the arrow, so now the arrow is toward B. I told him to switch it back to A. Since the technical foul awards possession to Team A, we can't complete the AP throw in, therefore the arrow should stay with Team A. We administered the Tech and on we went. Did I interpret and administer the situation properly? My partner (a supposed 10-year-vet looked about as confused as could possibly be). First time I've had a situation like this occur. |
|
|||
You are correct, sir. And, this is a good example of why you sometimes need to tell the score table not to switch the arrow at the time you make the jump ball call, but to wait until the throw in is completed legally.
|
|
|||
Also, keep in mind that eventhough you administered it correctly, maybe the contact did not necessarily warrant a tech. We weren't there, we don't know. Maybe a stern "knock it off" in your best Judge Judy voice would have done the trick
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
+1
|
|
|||
Why are we questioning his judgement just because he called a T? There was no indication in his post that it was undeserved.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
I was not questioning his judgement. Since he said it was the 1st time he had this happen to him, it was a suggestion of an alternate resolution to the situation if it happened again.
|
|
|||
Definitely not my first technical foul. It was the first time I'd had to give a technical immediately after a held ball.
|
|
|||
If he got it right this time, why does he need an "alternate resolution" next time? If you say he didn't get it right, aren't you second guessing? Can't have it both ways.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
+1
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
It's called second-guessing. When you have contact by a defender before you hand the ball to the thrower, it's kinda hard to criticize somebody for not calling it incidental contact unless you had actually seen the play. |
|
|||
Quote:
Switch then arrow when:
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|