The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did I do this right? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60148-did-i-do-right.html)

stiffler3492 Wed Dec 15, 2010 01:02pm

Did I do this right?
 
NFHS Rules.

I have a held ball, with the arrow pointing towards Team A. After the whistle for the held ball, and before the AP throw-in, B1 pushes A1. I call the tech for intentional contact during a dead ball.

As I go to report what happened, the table guy switches the arrow, so now the arrow is toward B. I told him to switch it back to A. Since the technical foul awards possession to Team A, we can't complete the AP throw in, therefore the arrow should stay with Team A.

We administered the Tech and on we went.

Did I interpret and administer the situation properly? My partner (a supposed 10-year-vet looked about as confused as could possibly be). First time I've had a situation like this occur.

Hugh Refner Wed Dec 15, 2010 01:05pm

You are correct, sir. And, this is a good example of why you sometimes need to tell the score table not to switch the arrow at the time you make the jump ball call, but to wait until the throw in is completed legally.

rockyroad Wed Dec 15, 2010 01:05pm

Yes you did...since the AP throw-in never ended, the arrow should stay the same direction.

PG_Ref Wed Dec 15, 2010 01:21pm

Also, keep in mind that eventhough you administered it correctly, maybe the contact did not necessarily warrant a tech. We weren't there, we don't know. Maybe a stern "knock it off" in your best Judge Judy voice would have done the trick ;)

stiffler3492 Wed Dec 15, 2010 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 707605)
Also, keep in mind that eventhough you administered it correctly, maybe the contact did not necessarily warrant a tech. We weren't there, we don't know. Maybe a stern "knock it off" in your best Judge Judy voice would have done the trick ;)

Maybe I'll pack a gavel and a white curly wig for my next game.:D

Loudwhistle Wed Dec 15, 2010 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pg_ref (Post 707605)
also, keep in mind that eventhough you administered it correctly, maybe the contact did not necessarily warrant a tech. We weren't there, we don't know. Maybe a stern "knock it off" in your best judge judy voice would have done the trick ;)

+1

Camron Rust Wed Dec 15, 2010 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 707605)
Also, keep in mind that eventhough you administered it correctly, maybe the contact did not necessarily warrant a tech. We weren't there, we don't know. Maybe a stern "knock it off" in your best Judge Judy voice would have done the trick ;)

Why are we questioning his judgement just because he called a T? There was no indication in his post that it was undeserved.

Rich Wed Dec 15, 2010 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 707621)
Why are we questioning his judgement just because he called a T? There was no indication in his post that it was undeserved.

Because some officials seem to (wrongly) think that technical fouls should be avoided at all costs.

JugglingReferee Wed Dec 15, 2010 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 707601)
NFHS Rules.

I have a held ball, with the arrow pointing towards Team A. After the whistle for the held ball, and before the AP throw-in, B1 pushes A1. I call the tech for intentional contact during a dead ball.

As I go to report what happened, the table guy switches the arrow, so now the arrow is toward B. I told him to switch it back to A. Since the technical foul awards possession to Team A, we can't complete the AP throw in, therefore the arrow should stay with Team A.

We administered the Tech and on we went.

Did I interpret and administer the situation properly? My partner (a supposed 10-year-vet looked about as confused as could possibly be). First time I've had a situation like this occur.

Correct.

Switch then arrow when:
  • The ball is legally touched inbounds, or
  • The throwing-in team violates on the throw-in

PG_Ref Wed Dec 15, 2010 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 707621)
Why are we questioning his judgement just because he called a T? There was no indication in his post that it was undeserved.

I was not questioning his judgement. Since he said it was the 1st time he had this happen to him, it was a suggestion of an alternate resolution to the situation if it happened again.

Welpe Wed Dec 15, 2010 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by camron rust (Post 707621)
why are we questioning his judgement just because he called a t? There was no indication in his post that it was undeserved.


+1

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 15, 2010 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 707621)
Why are we questioning his judgement just because he called a T? There was no indication in his post that it was undeserved.

+2

It's called second-guessing. When you have contact by a defender before you hand the ball to the thrower, it's kinda hard to criticize somebody for not calling it incidental contact unless you had actually seen the play.

stiffler3492 Wed Dec 15, 2010 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 707625)
I was not questioning his judgement. Since he said it was the 1st time he had this happen to him, it was a suggestion of an alternate resolution to the situation if it happened again.

Definitely not my first technical foul. It was the first time I'd had to give a technical immediately after a held ball.

mbyron Wed Dec 15, 2010 05:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 707625)
I was not questioning his judgement. Since he said it was the 1st time he had this happen to him, it was a suggestion of an alternate resolution to the situation if it happened again.

If he got it right this time, why does he need an "alternate resolution" next time? If you say he didn't get it right, aren't you second guessing? Can't have it both ways.

Judtech Wed Dec 15, 2010 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 707622)
Because some officials seem to (wrongly) think that technical fouls should be avoided at all costs.

Why would you throw a "T" in this scenario? It's not like the player wrestled the official to the floor or anything!!:p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1