The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 01:24pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Whatever it was, it definitely was not a fumble.
Who cares?

Read case book play 4.15.4SitE. That says the defensive touch ended the dribble. In that case, what difference does it make what type of dribble it ended... a regular ol' dribble or an interrupted dribble?

Rules rulz!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 01:28pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
No, Casebook Interpretations Rule ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Case book play 4.15.4SitE.
4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally
touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball
with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1
ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However,
the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count
continues. (9-5-2)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 03:23pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Who cares?

Read case book play 4.15.4SitE. That says the defensive touch ended the dribble. In that case, what difference does it make what type of dribble it ended... a regular ol' dribble or an interrupted dribble?

Rules rulz!
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally
touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball
with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1
ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However,
the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count
continues. (9-5-2)
4-15-4d: The dribble ends when the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

In my play, the touch did not cause the loss of control. This rule has already been rewritten once recently, seemingly as a result of discussion here. Perhaps another editorial revision will be forthcoming.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 04:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
4-15-4d: The dribble ends when the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

In my play, the touch did not cause the loss of control. This rule has already been rewritten once recently, seemingly as a result of discussion here. Perhaps another editorial revision will be forthcoming.
I'm basing my decision on the fact they revised the portion of the rule already. I can't imagine they want this treated differently than a fumble where the same thing happens.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 04:58pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm basing my decision on the fact they revised the portion of the rule already. I can't imagine they want this treated differently than a fumble where the same thing happens.
I tend to agree.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interrupted Dribble jdmara Basketball 4 Tue Sep 29, 2009 01:44pm
Interrupted Dribble ??? BillyMac Basketball 3 Sun Feb 01, 2009 06:06pm
Interrupted dribble and OOB SamIAm Basketball 16 Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:34am
3 Sec During Interrupted Dribble chayce Basketball 1 Fri Dec 12, 2003 12:17pm
Interrupted dribble force39 Basketball 10 Wed Mar 12, 2003 03:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1