View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 01:16am
justacoach justacoach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Tonight BV: A1 pushes the ball up the court in transition. He pulls up and loses control. As he chases the ball down, it touches B1's foot. A1 grabs the ball in both hands, then starts another dribble. Violation?
I think you are taking liberties with the well defined term 'interrupted dribble'. A more apropos description for your sitch is 'fumble' followed by a touch by an opponent. I would not have a violation here even if the touch were by a teammate of the former dribbler. The only occasion for a violation here is if B1's contact with the ball were deemed intentional.
Don't ask me why, I'm JUSTACOACH, but I'll take a stab. See 9-5-3...Pg 55
RULE 9 SECTION 5 ILLEGAL DRIBBLE
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART.1 . . . A try for field goal.
ART. 2 . . . A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 . . . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city

Last edited by justacoach; Sun Dec 12, 2010 at 01:24am.
Reply With Quote