The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 03:10am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
It matters not how we define his obvious loss of control, the intervening touch by another player eliminates the possible call for illegal dribble, or travel for that matter. Only potential violation, as I mentioned above, is kicked ball, if you deem intentional contact w/ B player's foot.
I can't imagine why you come with this pedestrian a query. Is it possible you are invested in some of your legendary over parsing of a mundane sitch?
Here's the deal. This happened tonight. After receiving a pass over the top of a press, A1 lost control of the dribble, retrieved the ball in both hands, and started another dribble. I was trail, quite a way behind the play. I did not actually see the ball touch the foot, but Coach A helped me. "He kicked it!" I'm fairly certain that it was not an actual kick, nor was the coach asking for one, but rather was saying that this gave A1 the right to start another dribble. I don't see that it does. If contact by B1 had caused the loss of control, yes, it ends the dribble. But contact was lost before the contact, (I think) so I see this play as a violation. Had I seen contact with the foot, what would I have done? Can't say. But in hindsight, I think I accidentally made the right call.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 04:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Here's the deal. This happened tonight. After receiving a pass over the top of a press, A1 lost control of the dribble, retrieved the ball in both hands, and started another dribble. I was trail, quite a way behind the play. I did not actually see the ball touch the foot, but Coach A helped me. "He kicked it!" I'm fairly certain that it was not an actual kick, nor was the coach asking for one, but rather was saying that this gave A1 the right to start another dribble. I don't see that it does. If contact by B1 had caused the loss of control, yes, it ends the dribble. But contact was lost before the contact, (I think) so I see this play as a violation. Had I seen contact with the foot, what would I have done? Can't say. But in hindsight, I think I accidentally made the right call.
Now that you have provided the denoument, which does not make mention of any ball contact by another player, I concur and support your surmise of illegal dribble violation.
However..
If the eye-in-the-sky shows the ball accidentally contacting another player, as declared in the OP, I think you got some 'splaining to do...
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city

Last edited by justacoach; Sun Dec 12, 2010 at 04:28am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 04:41am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
If the eye-in-the-sky shows the ball accidentally contacting another player, as declared in the OP, I think you got some 'splaining to do...
Why?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 12:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I didn't say that, I asked the question. If an interrupted dribble is touched by an opponent, does that end the dribble? I see no rule which says it does.
You did say that; at least that's how I read this post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Here's the deal. This happened tonight. After receiving a pass over the top of a press, A1 lost control of the dribble, retrieved the ball in both hands, and started another dribble. I was trail, quite a way behind the play. I did not actually see the ball touch the foot, but Coach A helped me. "He kicked it!" I'm fairly certain that it was not an actual kick, nor was the coach asking for one, but rather was saying that this gave A1 the right to start another dribble. I don't see that it does. If contact by B1 had caused the loss of control, yes, it ends the dribble. But contact was lost before the contact, (I think) so I see this play as a violation. Had I seen contact with the foot, what would I have done? Can't say. But in hindsight, I think I accidentally made the right call.
Unless you're also saying a fumble would give you the same ruling as your post above.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Sun Dec 12, 2010 at 12:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 12:49pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You did say that; at least that's how I read this post:



Unless you're also saying a fumble would give you the same ruling as your post above.
Nobody mentioned a fumble until JR. There definitely was not a fumble. Player had a dribble, then lost control resulting in an interrupted dribble. Ball then touched/was touched by the defender. Dribbler then picked the ball up with both hands. Can he legally start a new dribble after this sequence? I don't see how, but I entertain other opinions.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Aretha-Just a lil respect...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Nobody mentioned a fumble until JR.
FWIW, I did, in post #2 of this thread, and provided a well reasoned refutation to your improper call and your improper characterization of this action as 'interrupted dribble'.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 07:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Player had a dribble, then lost control resulting in an interrupted dribble. Ball then touched/was touched by the defender. Dribbler then picked the ball up with both hands. Can he legally start a new dribble after this sequence?
Yes as per NFHS case book play 4.15.4SitE. It's the exact same play. You had an interrupted dribble that touched an opponent. That ended the interrupted dribble. So the dribbler could recover and dribble again.

The case play just says "dribble". It didn't say that it only applies to one certain specific type of dribble though. Go with what you got. And what you got is sureashell good enough imo.

Rules rulz!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 08:06pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Yes as per NFHS case book play 4.15.4SitE. It's the exact same play. You had an interrupted dribble that touched an opponent. That ended the interrupted dribble. So the dribbler could recover and dribble again.

The case play just says "dribble". It didn't say that it only applies to one certain specific type of dribble though. Go with what you got. And what you got is sureashell good enough imo.

Rules rulz!
The key to the case play is that the touch caused the loss of control, which is not what happened in my play. Is it the intent that the touch would still end the dribble? Probably Is it written that way? No
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 08:48pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
A horse is a horse, of course of course....

And so is a dribble, of course of course.

And use what you got (the case play cited) and don't worry your pretty l'il head any further 'bout it.

Now shoo, shoo....

Your time could be more constructively used picketing anyone who has ever called a blarge.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 08:51pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post

Your time could be more constructively used picketing anyone who has ever called a blarge.
I don't actually know anyone who has called one.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 10:01pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post

Your time could be more constructively used picketing anyone who has ever called a blarge.

I should build a fence around 'em? Good idea.

__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interrupted Dribble jdmara Basketball 4 Tue Sep 29, 2009 01:44pm
Interrupted Dribble ??? BillyMac Basketball 3 Sun Feb 01, 2009 06:06pm
Interrupted dribble and OOB SamIAm Basketball 16 Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:34am
3 Sec During Interrupted Dribble chayce Basketball 1 Fri Dec 12, 2003 12:17pm
Interrupted dribble force39 Basketball 10 Wed Mar 12, 2003 03:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1