The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2000, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett:
[B]I have heard of the situation where a block and a charge have been called on the same play. Frankly, I don't know how that can be done according to the rules (NF). We discussed this at our association last season and we agreed that it must be one or the other.


Egos notwithstanding, if two officials come up with different foul calls simultaneously on the same play (one signaling block and one signaling player control), the mechanic according to the rules is to call a double foul. Agreed that it shouldn't happen, and that one guy should have a fist without signaling anything yet, but if it DOES happen, that's the prescribed mechanic. It's not really a matter of one guy needing to "give in" to the other, since they both made a strong call (i.e., they "sold" the call). So, in the original post, it sounds like the officials did what they were supposed to do after they made the gaffe of both signaling differently.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1