I have heard of the situation where a block and a charge have been called on the same play. Frankly, I don't know how that can be done according to the rules (NF). We discussed this at our association last season and we agreed that it must be one or the other.
The two calls are mutually exclusive. Either the defender fulfilled the requirements for taking the charge or he didn't. If he did, it's a charge - if he didn't, it's a block.
Imagine what the game would be like if you could do this (allowing both calls to stand on one play) on shooting foul/clean block, shooting foul/shooter clearing out with arm, etc.
One alternative is to use the "Richie Powers" call. Richie was a long-time NBA ref who used to get out of the controversy of whether a foul was a block or a charge by calling a travel. That way, each team didn't feel so outraged at the whistle.
Bottom line - this is NOT what coaches mean when they yell "Call it both ways"
[This message has been edited by Mark Padgett (edited March 25, 2000).]