View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 28, 2000, 06:20pm
John John is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8
Post

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mark Padgett:
[B]I have heard of the situation where a block and a charge have been called on the same play. Frankly, I don't know how that can be done according to the rules (NF). We discussed this at our association last season and we agreed that it must be one or the other.

The two calls are mutually exclusive. Either the defender fulfilled the requirements for taking the charge or he didn't. If he did, it's a charge - if he didn't, it's a block.

I agree with Mark. There are many instances where a double foul can be called, but not here. It makes no sense. If you call the offensive player for a player control foul then the defensive player CAN NOT commit a simultaneous block, and vica versa. I know this is an easy way out, and it looks good on TV and to the uninformed fans, but in this case one or the other HAS to be called for the foul. I think thye should have gotten together and decided for sure one way or the other. The heat will be on regardless of the outcome, so get it right.

Reply With Quote