![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Use NFHS rules 4-12-1, 4-15-4(a) and 9-5-2 and break it down.
Did the ball come to rest? According to the OP, yes. By rule(4-15-4a) that ended the dribble. Did the dribbler have player control at that point? Always a judgment call. If you feel that the player maintained player control(i.e. was holding the ball), then you either have a travel while the ball wasn't being dribbled or an illegal second dribble when the player dribbles again after the ball was pinned. If you feel that the dribbler didn't have player control when the ball was pinned, then you can't have a travel without that player control and it's also legal for the dribbler to dribble a second time as per 9-5-2. Judgment call. Your choice. In real life, I'm personally going with the no-call. I don't think that the period when the ball was pinned between the opponents comprised player control by the dribbler. Usually when a player has control, they can do something with the ball(pass, shoot, dribble). That's not the case in the situation described. JMO. |
|
|||
|
I disagree here. In this case, the defender, rather than the dribbler causes the ball to come to rest so the condition of 4-15-4a has not been met.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The facts from the original post are that the ball came to rest while in contact with the dribbler's hand. That ain't gonna change, no matter what linguistic magic you might try to weave. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Didn't the dribbler cause the ball to come to rest by pinning it on the defender's hip? Didn't the dribbler also allow the ball to come to rest in one hand when it was pinned also? The question now is whether the dribbler had player control or not when the ball does come to rest. As I said, that is a judgment call. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
If, however, you judge that the dribbler pinned it, you must call traveling. If the dribbler pins it, he has ended his dribble by holding the ball. Since he is holding the ball, he has player control and is subject to the traveling restrictions. So you have a choice: either the dribble didn't end because A1 isn't holding the ball or A1 lifted and returned his pivot foot to the floor while holding the ball. |
|
|||
|
Um, no. See post #33 above. Ball might be at rest but there isn't any player control imo. And you can't call it a held ball either because the defender didn't have their hand(s) on the ball.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But mileage may vary as it is a judgment call. I'd leave it up to the calling official. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Dec 02, 2010 at 03:03pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| What do you carry? | zm1283 | Basketball | 39 | Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:03pm |
| Is this a carry? | Bradford82 | Basketball | 40 | Wed Dec 16, 2009 09:04pm |
| Is this a carry/travel or is it legit. | btwong | Basketball | 9 | Fri Jul 21, 2006 01:12am |
| Carry | JLC | Basketball | 10 | Thu Feb 26, 2004 04:25pm |
| "Carry!" | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 2 | Sun Dec 17, 2000 10:49pm |