The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 01:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
That's all good and I agree, however, in the OP the player never fumbled the ball, the ball never drops or slips from a player's grasp. That's why I say travel.
When did the dribble end?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
When did the dribble end?
When the ball came to rest in A1's hand.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 01:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
When the ball came to rest in A1's hand.
But did it? I'm assuming that A1 is attempting to push the ball down in a dribble. It's not resting in his hand, it's resting on B1's hip. There's a difference.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Junk in the trunk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
But did it? I'm assuming that A1 is attempting to push the ball down in a dribble. It's not resting in his hand, it's resting on B1's hip. There's a difference.
Yes A1's hand is on top of the ball attempting to keep dribbling towards the goal. B1's hip ,whom was running beside, got between the ball and the floor during the dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 01:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by The R View Post
Yes A1's hand is on top of the ball attempting to keep dribbling towards the goal. B1's hip ,whom was running beside, got between the ball and the floor during the dribble.
Yeah, in that case, I've got an on-going dribble and thus no travel.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
But did it? I'm assuming that A1 is attempting to push the ball down in a dribble. It's not resting in his hand, it's resting on B1's hip. There's a difference.
What if A1 was attempting to push the ball down and his own d#mn hip got in the way?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
What if A1 was attempting to push the ball down and his own d#mn hip got in the way?
That one would be a travel if they continued to take steps or an illegal dribble if they attempted to dribble again.

A1 would have control in this case which would end the dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 02:09pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
What if A1 was attempting to push the ball down and his own d#mn hip got in the way?
I'd call at travel on this, just as if he held it between his hand and stomach, or leg. But his hip does not equal B1's hip.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'd call at travel on this, just as if he held it between his hand and stomach, or leg. But his hip does not equal B1's hip.
I agree. If it's his hip then he's caused the ball to be at rest in his hand, ending his dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 02:09pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
But did it? I'm assuming that A1 is attempting to push the ball down in a dribble. It's not resting in his hand, it's resting on B1's hip. There's a difference.
And what if the hip is considered part of the leg and B-1 intentionally moved in the direction of the ball? Do you have a kicking violation? Clumsy is not a foul. And snaqs' corollary 'ugly is not a violation' seems to be the way to go on this play.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you carry? zm1283 Basketball 39 Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:03pm
Is this a carry? Bradford82 Basketball 40 Wed Dec 16, 2009 09:04pm
Is this a carry/travel or is it legit. btwong Basketball 9 Fri Jul 21, 2006 01:12am
Carry JLC Basketball 10 Thu Feb 26, 2004 04:25pm
"Carry!" Mark Dexter Basketball 2 Sun Dec 17, 2000 10:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1