![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
So what then does 4-37-2d mean when it says: "To obtain or maintain legal rebounding position, a player may not:...Violate the principle of verticality."?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
I think you can only violate the principal of verticality when you move into another's space. Moving "away" from the other's space is legal.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
However Cobra was making a big point of stating that verticality can only apply to a defender with LGP. The rule book clearly disagrees, and specifically calls out that rebounders must also respect the principle of verticality in order to be legal. I probably edited the context out of what little bit of his post I quoted.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Had this one happen on Monday. Young man pretty much braced himself for impact by starting to lean back, partner calls the charge. Coach screams out " That has not been called all year", my response " Not sure what to tell you coach, but today is a new day". But at halftime we went over it and he was ok with the call.
|
|
|||
|
Exactly...you don't violate your vertical space, you violate someone elses.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| charge and player control foul | refnjoe | Basketball | 14 | Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:22pm |
| charge / player control | dguig | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 01, 2004 07:41pm |
| Block/Charge/Player Control? | RookieDude | Basketball | 16 | Sun Dec 29, 2002 06:02pm |
| Help!!! What's the difference between a charge and a player control foul in NCAA? | gregbrown8 | Basketball | 31 | Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:38am |
| Anticipation | Big Sarge | Basketball | 6 | Mon Feb 05, 2001 09:24am |