The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member

charge and player control foul

This is my first year officiating, and I have been browsing the forum for a few weeks now. I have found this to be extremely helpful- well most of the time.

One thread (which I can't find anymore) made me question my thinking on charge calls. Someone referred to a coach asking a ref, "so you're saying, it is a charge and not a player control foul?" And the ref said yes.

That was the end of the post and no one seemed to clarify/question this. Perhaps because it was implied that the ref was clueless?

As I see it, charging, by definition, IS a player-control foul. Am I missing something? Are there exceptions?

Also, what is the proper mechanic for calling these and reporting to the table? Do you use the player control foul on the floor, and then use the charge signal when reporting? Or...
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
I believe that in the definition of a player control it says something or is referred some where as charging into a player:

SECTION 6 CONTACT