![]() |
|
|
|||
Player starting to fall in anticipation of charge
I've heard numerous partners say this type of thing regarding a block/charge situation: If a player is starting to fall/lean back before contact is made, I call that a block."
How does one defend this statement by rule? If the defender has established legal guarding position and then leans back, starts to fall before contact (into the torso) is made by the offensive player, shouldn't this still be a charge? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
True
This is a HTBT play. In my mind it all depends on the amount of contact and if the contact caused the player to go to the floor. If they are leaning back so far as to require minimal contact to go to the floor, I've got nothing or a block. The main reasons players do this is to draw a foul and that is an Unsporting T as one poster has already mentioned. You can still call a charge when the player is leaning back because as you say they are allowed to brace or move to absorb contact.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
To or Through
Quote:
I don't agree the main reason is to brace for contact. I believe the main reason is to fake a foul, hence the unsporting T.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
4-23-3-e
Art 3: After the initial legal guarding position is obtained: e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact. JohnDorian: How in the world would falling away from the A player violate the principle of verticality?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Falling without any contact is very different than starting to fall before contact. Two different things.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Never truer words spoken
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
What is the intent of "turn or duck"? It's that the player is not required to "stand in there and take it" for this to be a foul. The purpose of turning or ducking is self-preservation. So is starting to fall before contact (setting aside any argument about faking being fouled).
But if you want something else to hang your hat on, then consider that a defender, planted in the ball handler's path has established LGP. And one provision of LGP is: "The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs." Falling backward, as Jeff pointed out earlier, is not movement "toward the opponent".
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
The guard may move laterrally or obliquely (to include backwards) to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. |
|
|||
Help a brotha out...Rules reference, please?
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
charge and player control foul | refnjoe | Basketball | 14 | Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:22pm |
charge / player control | dguig | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 01, 2004 07:41pm |
Block/Charge/Player Control? | RookieDude | Basketball | 16 | Sun Dec 29, 2002 06:02pm |
Help!!! What's the difference between a charge and a player control foul in NCAA? | gregbrown8 | Basketball | 31 | Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:38am |
Anticipation | Big Sarge | Basketball | 6 | Mon Feb 05, 2001 09:24am |