![]() |
|
|||
Team Control timeout request
If you have officiated very long, this has likely happened to you:
Team A has the ball, A1 becomes trapped ... one second, two seconds, A1 still is trapped, three seconds, four seconds, A1 attempts a pass to A2 and pass is in the air... Team A coach jumps up and requests time as the pass is released. Your whistle goes off as you move to grant the timeout request ... just as Team B intercepts the pass. Now what? Somebody point me in the right direction for rules. NFHS 5-8-3a seems to say a time out request can be made during TEAM control (which is present during the pass - see NFHS 4-12-2b). You know Team B coach is gong to be screaming that his team has the ball and he wants that break-away lay-up. This situation has happened to me more than once and I have always relied upon stating that the request was made before Team B gained control and my whistle was just a little bit slow. I'm looking for rules justification because I (and you too, probably) have been posed with the following question, "...can only be granted a timeout when the ball is in player control or the ball is dead." T or F. "Only" and "player" are the words that are bothering me. For the "only" statement to be True shouldn't it say "team" control?
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Timeout Request Granted . . . When? | Freddy | Basketball | 11 | Sat Dec 26, 2009 06:33pm |
Player Control and Team Control fouls | MelbRef | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm |
Timeout request | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 8 | Mon Apr 30, 2007 04:14pm |
Backcourt Violation and Timeout Request | chgoref49 | Basketball | 2 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 04:55pm |
Player control vs Team control foul | QuebecRef87 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am |