Quote:
Originally Posted by jophyal
I have read nfhs 4-42, 7-5-6, and 9-2. Can someone tell me what the violation for a thrower, on a made basket, dribbling while out of bounds and before the throw in, is. I was told that the thrower is not allowed to dribble out of bounds while a five count has been started.
|
No one can tell you that because it is not a violation. Whoever told you that was wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jophyal
I was asked by a coach at my school and I informed him that it was legal, as well as going back as far as a gym will alow is not a violation. I just wanted to make sure I cited the exact rule.. He is reading these and I am sure appreciates the help. I do.
|
Here is the NFHS ruling from the Case Book:
9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area
before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.