The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   throw in violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59790-throw-violation.html)

jophyal Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:25pm

throw in violation
 
I have read nfhs 4-42, 7-5-6, and 9-2. Can someone tell me what the violation for a thrower, on a made basket, dribbling while out of bounds and before the throw in, is. I was told that the thrower is not allowed to dribble out of bounds while a five count has been started.

Scrapper1 Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:26pm

You left out one critical rule reference: 6-1.

Indianaref Fri Nov 19, 2010 03:50pm

The thrower can dribble plus drop kick it.:D

Scuba_ref Fri Nov 19, 2010 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 702034)
The thrower can dribble plus drop kick it.:D

Unintentionally!

Mark Padgett Fri Nov 19, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jophyal (Post 702006)
I was told that the thrower is not allowed to dribble out of bounds while a five count has been started.

Just curious as to who told you that? Was it another official? An evaluator? A coach (most likely)? You may want to seek them out to discuss it and tell them (nicely) that you were told here they were wrong. If they persist, ask for a rules reference.

jophyal Fri Nov 19, 2010 05:09pm

I was asked by a coach at my school and I informed him that it was legal, as well as going back as far as a gym will alow is not a violation. I just wanted to make sure I cited the exact rule.. He is reading these and I am sure appreciates the help. I do.

Nevadaref Fri Nov 19, 2010 08:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jophyal (Post 702006)
I have read nfhs 4-42, 7-5-6, and 9-2. Can someone tell me what the violation for a thrower, on a made basket, dribbling while out of bounds and before the throw in, is. I was told that the thrower is not allowed to dribble out of bounds while a five count has been started.

No one can tell you that because it is not a violation. Whoever told you that was wrong.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jophyal (Post 702054)
I was asked by a coach at my school and I informed him that it was legal, as well as going back as far as a gym will alow is not a violation. I just wanted to make sure I cited the exact rule.. He is reading these and I am sure appreciates the help. I do.

Here is the NFHS ruling from the Case Book:

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area
before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1