The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 15, 2010, 02:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SE CO
Posts: 62
Team A player that missed the catch had established front court position. So, since the ball then traveled to the back court, it will be a violation if touched by Team A. My area director gave us something close... A1 is in the B/C and passes to A2 in the F/C. The pass is short and hits the foot of A2. The ball rolls back into the B/C. It will be a violation if touched by Team A.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 15, 2010, 02:53am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrance "TJ" View Post
Team A player that missed the catch had established front court position. So, since the ball then traveled to the back court, it will be a violation if touched by Team A. My area director gave us something close... A1 is in the B/C and passes to A2 in the F/C. The pass is short and hits the foot of A2. The ball rolls back into the B/C. It will be a violation if touched by Team A.
You are correct in saying the Team A player touching the ball in the frontcourt gave it a front court status, but there was no team control during the play.

In the play given by your area directer, there is team control as control remains even while passing the ball. The ball gains a front court status by virtue of A2 touching the ball while having front court status. The ball going off A2's foot does not end team control. Thus the team in control was the last to touch the ball when it had front court status, and the first to touch after it gained backcourt status.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 15, 2010, 03:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SE CO
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
You are correct in saying the Team A player touching the ball in the frontcourt gave it a front court status, but there was no team control during the play.

In the play given by your area directer, there is team control as control remains even while passing the ball. The ball gains a front court status by virtue of A2 touching the ball while having front court status. The ball going off A2's foot does not end team control. Thus the team in control was the last to touch the ball when it had front court status, and the first to touch after it gained backcourt status.
I got it, that makes sense.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt or not? tarp8902 Basketball 26 Mon Dec 18, 2006 09:48am
Backcourt or not ATLBrvs326 Basketball 17 Sun Dec 17, 2006 06:51pm
backcourt A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 8 Thu Jan 15, 2004 09:01am
backcourt missinglink Basketball 13 Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:29pm
backcourt or not? timharris Basketball 2 Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1